Old blokes, bikes and injuries

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
iMad

Postby iMad » Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:14 pm

G'day all
Facts: I'm 67 and have just started riding again after 20+ years..
I've been riding my Trek hybrid for about 3 months in a bid to regain some health and shed some kilos and I'm finding I'm starting to suffer some minor injuries.
So far I've lost almost 20kg and I still have a way to go.
I'm currently doing about 25km per ride about 3 - 5 times per week.

The first injury is, and I'm not certain it's a cycling injury, Plantar Faciitis (Heel). It's been crook for some weeks now and although I'm getting physio it's still damn sore. It doesn't worry me at all when I'm riding but gets sore later.

The second thing that worries me is numb hands!!! Is there a way around this? Is there something I can do to take the pressure off them or will this issue resolve itself in time?
I'm finding that after about 5km or so my hands start to get sore and numb. It continues during the whole ride but I've found that my left hand in particular starts to get pins and needles and is quite uncomfortable.
Now though I'm finding that on the rear of my left shoulder blade I'm suffering quite intense pain, a burning sharp pain that seems (I think) to coincide with the pins and needles in my hands.
The sharp burning pain comes and goes all day now well after my ride has finished and the pain seems to be getting worse.
So far I've spent about $400 on physio trying to fix my heel and the last thing I want is to start spending more on my shoulder and hands.

Can anyone shed some light on my problems so that I can have a clear cut plan to resolve them?
Thanks guys
Tony
There are only two types of cyclist.
Those that have crashed and those that are about to.

grimbo

Re: Old blokes, bikes and injuries

Postby grimbo » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:06 pm

Nicely done on the 20kg!