Senior doctor says cyclists should tell GP about their bike-

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Senior doctor says cyclists should tell GP about their bike-

Postby Aushiker » Sun Mar 04, 2012 4:18 pm

to avoid unnecessary prostate cancer tests according to a posting at Road.cc.

Consultant urologist Chris Eden from the Royal Surrey County Hospital in Guildford says that cycling can temporarily raise levels of the glycoprotein prostate-specific antigen (PSA), potentially leading doctors to mistakenly recommend that the patient undergo a biopsy to test for prostate cancer, which may be indicated by excessive levels of PSA.

"Unfortunately some doctors may be unaware that cycling can spuriously raise a man`s PSA levels and so refer their patient for further and unnecessary treatment,” explained Mr Eden, “all because their cycling produced a false positive." he said.

He added that the heightened levels of the glycoprotein among bike riders did not in itself give rise to an increased risk of contracting prostate cancer.

"Cycling does raise PSA levels but only temporarily. So the way to distinguish whether cycling has caused a rise in levels is to refrain from getting on a bike for 48 hours and then having a second PSA test. The levels will have dropped if cycling was responsible for the rise," he said.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Aushiker

by BNA » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:39 pm

BNA

Re: Senior doctor says cyclists should tell GP about their b

Postby Xplora » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:39 pm

ANYTHING to avoid unnecessary testing in that area :shock: :shock: :shock:

:mrgreen:
Xplora

Postby gorilla monsoon » Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:10 pm

Tell my doctor I ride? I cycle past the fat little bugger most mornings!