Short Legged People and Aero Position = Possible?

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Short Legged People and Aero Position = Possible?

Postby Brenchen » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:46 pm

Hi all,

Hope I don't get grilled for this topic from people saying there are lots of discussions out there... There are indeed similar discussions that I had a look, though not directly related. However, I'd still like to hear your opinions/facts on this.

From the tour, I realised pretty much all the riders that I can see clearly have a very nice aero position, and looking at the bikes itself, the saddle height to handlebar height ratio is somewhat significant compared to mine.

For me, I have quite short legs but relatively long torso, and my body metrics have always been my limitations to do anything sportive... So I have always been very jealous of people with long legs. Anyway, to cut straight to my question. I can't imagine everyone on the tour are over 170cm tall and have perfect torso/leg length ratio, and for the riders (including you) like me (quite short legs vs long upper torso), how do we achieve (if at all possible) the aero positions on non-custom fit bikes?

I understand the whole discussion of seat height vs handlebar height is not everything, but just for this topic, how if possible to get myself into more of an aero position (saddle/handlebar) with my metrics?

I am 165cm now, riding a Merida reacto 50cm frame. Saddle height almost the lowest it can go with a perfect reach on the upper half.
Brendan Chen
It never gets easier, it only gets faster...
Merida Reacto 907 (2012)
Orbea Ordu (2012)
Brenchen

by BNA » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:04 pm

BNA

Re: Short Legged People and Aero Position = Possible?

Postby DoogleDave » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:04 pm