Broken pelvis.

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Broken pelvis.

Postby itsjesse » Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:27 pm

Hi there,

I was wondering if there is (there must be) other cyclists out there with experience dealing with and healing from a broken pelvis.

I broke my pelvis almost a month ago after being hit by a careess truck driver's trailer whilst riding my bike in the left lane on the left-hand side. I'm not sure what the truck driver was think as he passed me unsafely so he could get to a red light 100 metres away that was already full of cars. I just don't understand the sheer idiocy of some drivers.

Anyway, he left me with a broken pelvis, severe internal bleeding, collapsed bladder and nerve damage to my left leg. So a month later I'm at home and I currently have an x-fix in me, which is somewhat cumbersome.

Anyhow I was wondering if anyone else has gone through this and could help me with what to expect and any helpful advice on how to best recover.

Thanks for taking time to read this.
itsjesse

by BNA » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:05 pm

BNA

Re: Broken pelvis.

Postby winstonw » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:05 pm

that's a nasty injury jesse, and external fixation devices are very difficult to live with.
Best course of action is to contact the surgeon's office, if you don't have a follow up visit soon, and get as much advice as possible about rehab....also ask him for the of a physio that has worked with him. There's probably a lot of pelvic soft tissue, spine, and leg issues a physio may be able to assist with right now.

good luck with it champ.
try and use your time as productively as possible (external study, etc)
winstonw

Postby wombatK » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:17 pm

Yep, that's the kind of injury that creeps me out. I have a neighbour who suffered one, also