Bought first pair of spd shoes..... aching feet

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
nuttzo32

Bought first pair of spd shoes..... aching feet

Postby nuttzo32 » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:47 pm

Hi i just recently purchased a set of shimano spd shoes and went on my first 10km commute with them today and within a few minutes of riding i started to develop aching feet under the balls/arch area of the feet.Is this due to incorrect cleat positioning or is this just because my feet aren't used to pulling up the pedals?

Venus62

Re: Bought first pair of spd shoes..... aching feet

Postby Venus62 » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:19 pm

I'm no expert but I did my first ride (~20km) in cleats on the weekend and had no foot pain at all, so I'd suspect incorrect placement.

ball bearing

Postby ball bearing » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:24 pm

Youtube has many cleat positioning videos.

DoogleDave

Postby DoogleDave » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:42 pm

Your feet shouldn't hurt when wearing your cycling shoes.

Here's a few links which might be helpful reading:

http://www.stevehoggbikefitting.com/blo ... -position/

http://www.livestrong.com/article/24638 ... foot-pain/

When I first started wearing my cycling shoes (MTB shoes with SPD), I was getting sore feet every now and again and after adjusting my cleats further back my feet have been fine ever since.

Dave
2012 Felt F75 | 105 | ProLite Braccianos | GP4000S

grantw

Postby grantw » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:50 pm

A few minutes? Crikey.

Cleat position aside, how tight did you do them up? It's easy to get carried away with the cams and whatnot. Less is more I find.

nuttzo32

Postby nuttzo32 » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:01 pm

I will try positioning the cleats further back and see how it goes tomorrow.

wombatK

Postby wombatK » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:43 pm

Why are you trying to pull-up ? You might be over-thinking it and straining your legs.