Is it ITBS?

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Is it ITBS?

Postby YouAgainstMe » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:45 am

Hey all,

Several weeks ago I had my saddle to far back and moved it forward to where it was meant to be after riding home and cooling off I got right knee lateral pain. I tried moving saddle forward back up down and different cleat positions but about 15km into every ride it was flaring up again. So I took a week off while I waited on a new saddle to arrive and thought it best to let it recover.

Fast forward to today and 15km in my knee has flared up again. The pain is very specific and seems to be over the lateral condyle. Which leads me to think it may actually be ITBS and not position? Does anyone on here get it and how do you fix it?? I read in another thread that I can use a foam roller to help stretch it out? It's pretty shattering because after each short ride I'm having to take a week off...
YouAgainstMe

by BNA » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:30 pm

BNA

Re: Is it ITBS?

Postby coffeeandwine » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:30 pm

My physio gave me these two variations of stretches for my ITB (I have had to google similar images):

(First image is for the right leg)
Instructions are here (stretch #3)

and

(note, this one shows left leg)
Instructions here (stretch #1)

Good luck with it, very annoying.
coffeeandwine

Postby YouAgainstMe » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:46 am

Hey,

Thanks for the reply. How often are you meant to do those stretches? and did you find they helped much?
YouAgainstMe

Postby Dr_Mutley » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:26 am