Recovery Ideas

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Recovery Ideas

Postby burgesyd » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:42 am

I completed the Sydney Tough Mudder on Saturday last weekend. Ran the whole course and completed in 3h20m. This was a little different than my usual exercise routine of riding, walking and gym work. I ate well after the event and the follow days. I managed to get a light to moderate walk in on Sunday and Monday morning. By Tuesday my legs were still sore and fatigued. I went out for a ride on Wednesday morning and up the hills I had no power at all.

I am surprised that 4 days after the event I am still fatigued in the legs. I have completed the 100k Highland Fling before and did not need as long to recover.

Can anyone provide me with some tips on recovery? Are there certain changes to my diet that may help the days after a big event? Or is it more a case of just resting and letting my body recover on its own?

Thanks,

Mark
burgesyd

by BNA » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:13 am

BNA

Re: Recovery Ideas

Postby Sparx » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:13 am

One of the most important things you can do is to get some carbs and protein into you immediately after the event. As a guide - you should replace 80% of the calories used within an event within an hour. Chocolate milk is often touted as a good recovery drink with a good mix of carbs and protein.

Otherwise eat healthily in the days following, drink lots of water and do some low impact, low intensity exercise, swimming is good.
Sparx

Postby clackers » Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:16 am