Hypertension and Riding

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Hypertension and Riding

Postby tangary » Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:24 pm

Hi all, I crack 50years in a few weeks time and went for the obligatory check up not to long ago - came up with the unwanted scares of a high PSA of 4.3 and a BP averaging 144 (up to 170ish). Had an ultrasound of the walnut and is slightly high normal but homonegous and will keep monitoring PSA regularly. Just starting on Perindo (and ACE inhibitor) which appears to be keeping my BP at 135/90.Wondering if I could get any advice from anyone else who has had to start on BP meds on their experiences and any pitfalls to watch for. I went on a 60km 27kmh ave fairly flat ride and except for feeling somewhat dry and a bit of an itchy throat, pretty reasonable. Cheers in anticipation :-) Oh, am any opinions on walnut issues would be appreciated too!
TCR Adv 0 2013
tangary

by BNA » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:37 pm

BNA

Re: Hypertension and Riding

Postby GH » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:37 pm

I have been on BP meds for 15 years or so, 59 now, and my hypertensive state when detected was 205/160. Meds have kept it pretty good over the years and exercise tends to lower my BP. Since diagnosis I have also had a stent done with no bad effects either. Never overweight, 70kg and 176cm. I have never had any issues, other than being the age I am, with exercise and BP meds and I hope you find it the same. My Cardioligist has said keep it up so I am.
GH

Postby Dr_Mutley » Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:37 pm