your thoughts??????

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

your thoughts??????

Postby vince » Wed Aug 21, 2013 6:02 pm

As a person who never trained or played sport as a kid i'd like to find out what people think about while training/riding whether in a bunch or riding solo? I get rule 6 but what are your er.... well, thoughts?
2011 Fuji Roubaix 1
"Man plans, God laughs"
vince

by BNA » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:17 pm

BNA

Re: your thoughts??????

Postby Duck! » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:17 pm

Depends a fair bit on the ride. In a bunch you need to be constantly on the ball to what's happening around you, so your thoughts never really get a chance to stray too far from the immediate surrounds. Out solo, just let the mind go where it will (but don't get too zoned out from your surrounds). Sometimes not thinking about the ride is a better approach, especially if it's a tough one.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.
Duck!
Expert

Postby briztoon » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:33 pm

When on the road, depending on traffic conditions, I'm usually concentrating on the traffic around me and the road conditions. And staying alive.

When on quiet roads or deserted bike paths, what ever lifes problems are currently vexing me.

If there is an attractive female in the vicinity, sucking it in and looking nonchalantly cool.
briztoon

Postby DoubleSpeeded » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:35 pm

vince wrote:As a person who never trained or played sport as a kid i'd like to find out what people think about while training/riding whether in a bunch or riding solo? I get rule 6 but what are your er.... well, thoughts?

i never ride in a group

but riding with a mate, i generally dont think much... just have a good whinge about life.