Help! High protein/high carb diet advice

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Help! High protein/high carb diet advice

Postby ILMB » Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:19 am

There seem to be a lot of forum members with good nutritional knowledge, and I would appreciate any advice.

My partner has just been discharged from hospital after 3 difficult months. Very, very underweight and lost most muscle. Major healing is burning through calorie intake. He has mouth ulcers and can only manage pureed foods. Anything acidic such as tomatoes or fresh fruits (even bananas!) are out.

Hospital advises high protein / high carb diet. Our normal diet is low calorie, strongly mediterranean influenced with lots of vegetables.

I'm struggling to rethink my normal catering skills. Need to find a way to increase calorie and protein intake without adding too much bulk, as he is struggling to get through the volumes needed to supply the calories needed. We haven't been given a calorie target which also makes it confusing. What would be a good target?

Currently adding yoghurt, full cream milk, Sustagen, 2Cal, custard, ice cream, honey.

TIA
ILMB

by BNA » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:55 pm

BNA

Re: Help! High protein/high carb diet advice

Postby Tim » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:55 pm

I am in no way a nutritional expert but could I suggest energy and nutrient dense food such as ground nuts/peanut butter, avocados, eggs, cheese, and good quality minced meat.
I realise these foods aren't normally pureed but they are smooth in texture.
Maybe pumpkin soup, made with a cream base.
My Mum has cancer and has very little appetite for solid foods. She drinks a product called Resource, made by Nestle. A bit like Sustagen, packed with supplementary vitamins, minerals, carbs and proteins.

http://www.nestlehealthscience.com.au/products/resource%C2%AE-2