TAC questions

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

TAC questions

Postby andione1983 » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:55 am

Hi guys.. sorry to say, myself and another cyclist collided on friday evening around a blind corner on eastlink bike track, Thanks to those passing cyclists who helped..
I cannot remember much about the incident apart from trying to take evasive action, and obviously hit something, so been in hossy for the last two nights, broken nose, fractured cheek, damaged teeth..
Certainly makes you realize the dangers involved with even cycling..
Haven't looked at my bike yet, i know the other guys bike had a broken fork..
My question is (i wont be able to call TAC till tomorrow) but do you know if they cover cyclist/cyclist injuries?
or does it HAVE to include a car? also do they cover Bike track? Eastlink?
You would think surely the insurance would cover cyclists riding to work etc?
Just got home feeling a tad fortunate as the impact could have given me or the other guy spinal injuries or worse.
He was rather lucky to just have concussion..
Road Bike - 2013 Merida Ride Lite 93
MTB - Boardman Team Pro 2013
andione1983

by BNA » Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:06 am

BNA

Re: TAC questions

Postby macca33 » Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:06 am

I would not think that TAC covers bicycle collisions - unless they are struck by a motor vehicle on a highway. Sorry to hear you've had a crash mate, get well soon.

cheers
'dale CAAD10 - Ultegra6700 | CAAD10 Team - DA7800

macca33

Postby nezumi » Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:51 pm

If you were riding home from work, then ensure you call work and inform them first thing tomorrow. You may be covered under workcover if it was solely a trip home.

I know my work requests that all incidents be reported ASAP, preferably in 24 hours, and that this covers travel to and from home.