Food allergies

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Food allergies

Postby The 2nd Womble » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:16 am

I have struggled for the last 8 years with 50kg of weight gain and been yoyo-ing ever since.
On Monday night I ended up in the ER scratching myself till I bled from several spots, some of which should never bleed for any reason. I was so bad that the nurses actually had to cover me in antacid to relive the itching, and I was dosed up for the stomach cramps as well as Polaramine and Phenefgen. Needless to say I slept from 4am yesterday until 9pm last night and then till 5am this morning after being awake for an hour.
Last week with the itching getting worse my wife and I went to a local GP who ran some basic alletgen tests. I came back positive to wheat, corn, rice and one other that I've forgotten. I now have a 98% chance of an adverse reaction to eggs.
Further tests (skin prick) now need to be conducted by a Greenslopes immunologist ASAP and a long course of injections are on the cards together with an incredibly strict diet and I'll have to buy an Epi-pen after having had tingling lips and tongue a couple of times recently.
At the moment the best guess is that I have been bitten by ticks on two occasions with my intolerances ramping up each time. I'm a physical wreck today.
Has anyone else actually developed similarly over time to this point? The prospect of anaphylaxis is just alot stressing for us at the moment.
The only good Cyclist is a Bicyclist

Huge fan of booted RGers who just can't help themselves
The 2nd Womble

by BNA » Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:56 pm

BNA

Re: Food allergies

Postby foo on patrol » Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:56 pm

Jeez Womble, sucks to be you at the moment.:shock: