How much fun is mountain biking?

Jean

How much fun is mountain biking?

Postby Jean » Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:38 am

Yesterday afternoon my usual Monday lunch MTB blast became a late afternoon solo ride after my usual partners pulled the pin for various reasons. So I went out to Mt Stromlo and hit the trail at about 3.30. I wanted to go 'over the back' but had to get the kids from day care and not get swallowed by the evening light, so I had to push it a bit.

That was just the best ride. Of the local options I've tried (yet to give Sparrow Hill a try) Stromlo is easily my favourite and my time limit meant I was (for me anyway) trying to blat my way around. Consequently I was really trying to ride my bike and in the process got over/through things that sometimes get me. I had to back off a couple of times after nearly overcooking it. I got back to the car park with a good lap time, a pretty good average speed (all by my previous standards) and a huge grin.

My background is road and I still love it, but MTBing really can be the best fun. I've certainly had bad days when I wished I'd stayed home, but I'm still buzzing from that ride.

Sorry, just had to share that. :D

MichaelB

Re: How much fun is mountain biking?

Postby MichaelB » Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:49 am

Jean wrote: ....
My background is road and I still love it, but MTBing really can be the best fun. I've certainly had bad days when I wished I'd stayed home, but I'm still buzzing from that ride.
Sounds like your mates missed out.

My first off road journey was great too. Got there late so did a bit of exploring whilst trying to catch up with mates (the trail from the carpark to the middle was marked "easy", but had the eyeballs popping.

Caught up with my mates, did some easy and intermediate stuff, fell off a few times (cleats were a bit tight in the pedals) got dirty, and only covered 11km in an hour. :P :P :P

Back for more in a couple of weekend, so better get the ghetto tubeless conversion going !!!!