Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Canned Tomatoes
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Sydney

Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Canned Tomatoes » Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:53 pm

G'day, my Progear mountainbike has the stock tyres (26'/1.95') and tubes and I want to change them to 26'/1.75' tyres but I was wondering if I need to replace the inner tubes first.

Cheers.

Fred Nurk
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:13 pm
Location: Cairns, Queensland

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Fred Nurk » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:49 pm

With that sort of change in size its probably not required. If you were intending to run slicks (say, 1.25") then it'd be a different story.

Canned Tomatoes
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Canned Tomatoes » Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:03 am

I decided to go with 26 x 1.5 inch tyres... Still no biggie?

Fred Nurk
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:13 pm
Location: Cairns, Queensland

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Fred Nurk » Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:42 am

Unlikely.

Unless you've managed to get 2.25" tubes then you'll probably be ok. Might be a little bit more difficult to squeeze the tubes in, but not insurmountable.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]