Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Mountainbiking central

Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Canned Tomatoes » Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:53 pm

G'day, my Progear mountainbike has the stock tyres (26'/1.95') and tubes and I want to change them to 26'/1.75' tyres but I was wondering if I need to replace the inner tubes first.

Cheers.
Canned Tomatoes
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:14 pm
Location: Sydney

by BNA » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:49 pm

BNA
 

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Fred Nurk » Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:49 pm

With that sort of change in size its probably not required. If you were intending to run slicks (say, 1.25") then it'd be a different story.
Image
Fred Nurk
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Cairns, Queensland

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Canned Tomatoes » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:03 pm

I decided to go with 26 x 1.5 inch tyres... Still no biggie?
Canned Tomatoes
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:14 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Do I need a new inner tube when putting on thinner tyres

Postby Fred Nurk » Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:42 am

Unlikely.

Unless you've managed to get 2.25" tubes then you'll probably be ok. Might be a little bit more difficult to squeeze the tubes in, but not insurmountable.
Image
Fred Nurk
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Cairns, Queensland


Return to MTB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist