ELECTRIC TRICYCLE DYO??

drones

ELECTRIC TRICYCLE DYO??

Postby drones » Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:06 pm

Hi, new to this forum. I have been enjoying my BBSHD for a few months now but I can't get my wife motivated enough to join me so in negotiating she end up agreeing in "I may go if it is a tricycle" so I've got one but it is only a 20" wheels (she likes it because is low) and a mid mount motor will be to close to the ground. A front hub could the answer but I would rather be mid mount or rear traction. I know there are some DC motors in Ebay... Any thoughts??? Thanks Clem

John Lewis

Re: ELECTRIC TRICYCLE DYO??

Postby John Lewis » Sat Apr 21, 2018 9:04 pm

What is the trike? Make?
Standard style like a kids trike or a recumbent style?

zebee

Postby zebee » Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:26 am

My mother uses a Gomier coaster brake trike with front hub motor.

One thing she found quite quickly was that the cadence sensor has no smarts and so was giving strong power with small pedal movements. Which scared her, she felt it was running away with her. So we disconnected that and she just uses the throttle when needed up hill. Probably less of an issue for a younger person. I found it easy to get used to.

As I understand it the mid drive ones need a bit of care when changing gears else the drivetrain wears quickly.

I have a recumbent trike with a bionx rear hub, the torque sensor on that is good, gives solid push when I am pushing it but doesn't get in my way when I want to go slow.

You might have a bit of a problem finding a mid drive conversion kit that will fit a trike. Although people do have them for recumbent trikes which are harder.

drones

Postby drones » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:44 am

John Lewis wrote:What is the trike? Make?
Standard style like a kids trike or a recumbent style?