Cycling Safety Research Survey

Wanda Griffin

Cycling Safety Research Survey

Postby Wanda Griffin » Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:59 pm

Survey titled: Judging accident risk at intersections for car drivers and cyclists.
QUT Ethics Approval Number: 1200000528

Dear cyclists,

I am a Masters by Research Student from the Queensland University of Technology, Centre for Accident Research and Road Safety - Queensland. I am looking for cyclists, aged over 17, with a car driver’s licence, who live in a major city or inner regional centre, to complete an online survey that will take approximately 20 minutes. Approval has been given by Christopher Jones (Founder) to share this survey on the BNA forum.

The purpose of this research is to investigate factors affecting cyclist safety at intersections, one of the road environments where cyclists are most at risk. This research will examine how you as a cyclist or a car driver experience travelling on the road through the urban environment. By gathering your knowledge we can gain a greater understanding about the risk you feel when interacting with various modes of transport in a range of traffic situations. Other information we would like to gather is regarding the number of years you have been driving or cycling, how regularly you use your bike /car, the distance and amount of time you travel. Your input will provide valuable knowledge and information that can be used to inform the development of road safety strategies and guide the development of a safer transport network.

Your participation in this project is entirely voluntary and all survey answers are anonymous, the names of individual persons are not required in any of the responses.