changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Evo3011
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:00 pm

changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby Evo3011 » Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:33 pm

Hi
I'm needing a 32 tooth sprocket on my rear cassette so i need to change RD to Ultegra long cage 6870.
How do I remove the electric cable from RD?
Do I need a special tool? I think i've read somewhere that you shouldn't pull on cable!
Is it as simple as pulling cable out of DA and pushing it into ultegra RD?
I have new chain and a near new 32-12 cassette, just need to know how to change over RD's electric cable.
Cheers

beanbiken
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:12 am

Re: changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby beanbiken » Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:37 pm

yes there is a little $2.00 tool that has a rounded opening that locates in the groove on the plug to pull & push as required. You could possibly fashion something or use long nose pliers but it is certainly worth finding one so you cause no damage. Not sur how mine came about, if I purchased seperate or came with a component.

Steve M.

User avatar
rheicel
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby rheicel » Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:50 pm

You can pull it with your fingers.
Image

User avatar
Duck!
Expert
Posts: 6275
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby Duck! » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:45 pm

While you do need an Ultegra derailleur to fit the 32T cassette, in most cases the standard version will work fine and you don't actually need the long one.

Ask your bike shop, they probably have a stack of the cable tools floating around.

Depending on the vintage of your system, you may need to plug into the E-Tube software & update the component firmware. If it's an older version than the new derailleur, it may not talk properly, but updating will sort it out.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.

User avatar
Drizt
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby Drizt » Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:49 pm

Just use your fingers at the very base of the cable end. No need for a tool. Well, I've never used one.

softy
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:44 pm

Re: changing from DA Di2 to Ultegra Di2

Postby softy » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:36 pm

I know he is not a loved on this forum, but i am certain the friendly vegan, Durianrider aka harley, has done this with Durace standard derailleur di2 as he is big on dish plates on his bikes.

if you search his channel you should find.
CTFU, cycling tips

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users