Buying/Building a bike for touring

onemorebike

Buying/Building a bike for touring

Postby onemorebike » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Hi guys,

Planning an 8 week cycle tour through panama, costa rica, nicaragua and Honduras. Leave in about 6 weeks.

I need a touring bike though.

I'd like to build one if I can. I'm hoping that the advantage of this will be...

1. When it breaks on the road, I'll know how to fix it
2. I'll learn some stuff
3. It'll be fun

Unfortunately I have never built a bike before and have no idea where to start.

My second option is just to go out and buy a Fuji Touring for $1000. Would much prefer to build though.

Could anyone point a complete noob in the right direction?

il padrone

Re: Buying/Building a bike for touring

Postby il padrone » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:16 pm

For a 'ready-to-roll' touring bike the best option is the Vivente World Randonneur.

If you've only got 6 weeks and have never built a bike before, I'd advise against this route - too many things to go wrong and throw you. While you could do some really good deals on overseas on-line purchases, it all takes time to get parts shipped and built. Then you need to ride the bike to get to know its peculiarities. Building up a bike would be fine if you had 12 weeks or so before your departure.
Mandatory helmet law?
"An unjustified and unethical imposition on a healthy activity."

just4tehhalibut

Postby just4tehhalibut » Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:53 am

il padrone wrote:If you've only got 6 weeks and have never built a bike before, I'd advise against this route.