Newbie Advice - Help needed

Newbie Advice - Help needed

Postby filippimini » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:42 pm

Hi all,

First of all, let me start by saying that I am a complete newb when it comes to bikes. In saying that, I have always ridden bikes and have owned many over the years, but I would never consider myself "in the know" about bikes or as a "cyclist", i'm just a bloke on a pushy.

A mate and I plan to start touring this summer with a couple of very short (80-100) overnight trips. Having never done this before I think I will need a lot of help, especially with the gear.

The Bike
Two years ago I bought myself a new bike with the intension of using it as a commuter/leisure bike with the possibility of doing some very light touring on it. With a tight budget, I found myself bringing home a 20" Trek 7.2Fx. I have really enjoyed riding it and think its a great bike for the price. I had a rear pannier rack installed when I bought the bike. It also has a small tool kit, pump, lights and drink bottle holder (will add a second).

What spares should I carry?
Is it worth adding bar extensions?

Panniers
I am trying to choose between two sets of panniers. Has anyone had any experience with either of these?
http://www.pushys.com.au/tioga-waterpro ... pgodGAUATw
http://www.velogear.com.au/cycling-acce ... niers.html
I know they are both cheap, but will they do the job? are they actually waterproof?

Sleeping Mat
I like the look of the exped SynMat range. Is the ultralight worth it?
http://www.bushcraftequipment.com.au/st ... asic-7.5-M
http://www.bushcraftequipment.com.au/st ... c-UL-7.5-M
Are there any other similar mats in that price range worth looking at?

Sleeping Bag
I have an old 0* Roman sleeping bag that is in good condition, but it may be a little to big/heavy. Whats out there that is worth looking at and won't blow the budget?

Cooking