Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

myway
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Brisbane

Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby myway » Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:02 pm

Hi Guys and Gals.
I am considering buying one of the larger edge computers and was wanting some information on the two units.
Firstly I have read that there were some issues with the 1000 unit mainly firmware. have these been addressed by Garmin?
The most important function that attracts me to the two units is the map. Can someone advise if they have bought the Garmin with maps what the Topo maps are like i.e. You are in a new area could you navigate comfortably using Garmin TOPO maps?
Finally for those that have and use the Garmin 810 or 1000 could you please give me your thoughts on the units.
Regards Mick
Mick
2008 Specialized Roubiax
Image

Smithstreet
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby Smithstreet » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:01 pm

A good question. I'm also interested in peoples thoughts as my Edge 705, although it's been great, is nearing the end of it's days I feel.

mikgit
Posts: 657
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby mikgit » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:24 pm

i can't coment on the maps as I don't use them, but my 1000 had a couple of niggles (freezing up) in the 1st month or so (got in october I think, so not too long after they came out), but has been fine since them after a few updates.
Look 675 Pro Team, Cervelo R3, GT Xizang, GT Zaskar, Scott Spark 710, Yeti ARC

User avatar
Boognoss
Super Mod
Super Mod
Posts: 6877
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Castle Hill, NSW
Contact:

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby Boognoss » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:46 pm

I've had the Edge 1000 since Dec last year so I got it with a couple of firmware updates already and it's been rock solid for me.
Prior to that I had the Edge 705 - it was good but I mainly upgraded for the wifi/BT options in the 1000 plus better mounting options (K-Edge mounts on all bikes to tidy up each cockpit). No experience with the 810 myself.
Salsa Casseroll, Avanti Quantum, Specialized Tricross, Specialized Allez, Cell SS

dampier
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:35 am

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby dampier » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:34 pm

I have the 1000, the segments can be frustrating (I would rather just have the summary at the end of the segment but that is another matter). The maps are good and are more than sufficient to navigate by, they are zoom-able and are similar to car navigation units. If you have the time, upload a pre determined route.

User avatar
biker jk
Posts: 5827
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby biker jk » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:26 pm

Can the 1000 keep track of odometers for multiple bikes? I recall reviews said it dropped this feature from the 500/800 models.

User avatar
flashpixx
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:04 pm
Location: Maylands WA

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby flashpixx » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:49 pm

biker jk wrote:Can the 1000 keep track of odometers for multiple bikes? I recall reviews said it dropped this feature from the 500/800 models.


The 510 can record multiple bikes
Flash

Image

Riding: Pinarello Dogma2

User avatar
biker jk
Posts: 5827
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby biker jk » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:58 pm

flashpixx wrote:
biker jk wrote:Can the 1000 keep track of odometers for multiple bikes? I recall reviews said it dropped this feature from the 500/800 models.


The 510 can record multiple bikes


As can the 810 but that wasn't my question. The 1000 dropped the ability to set up different bikes and so can't keep track of their mileage.

mikgit
Posts: 657
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby mikgit » Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:58 pm

the 1000 can have milage for different bikes... here's an old pic, only difference now after a few updates is it gave me more by default that i haven't gotten around to removing
Image

\and as someone said, yes the segments are annoying, it takes away all your data for the duration of the segment and give you segment data...don't want that, so deleted all my segments for the device...annoying.
Look 675 Pro Team, Cervelo R3, GT Xizang, GT Zaskar, Scott Spark 710, Yeti ARC

myway
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby myway » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:10 pm

Thanks Mikgit for the information. That is the first time i have seen this answered an yes you can. I have read many that were complaining about the fact that Garmin dropped this off the 1000. So that is good news.
Mick
2008 Specialized Roubiax
Image

User avatar
biker jk
Posts: 5827
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby biker jk » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:20 pm

myway wrote:Thanks Mikgit for the information. That is the first time i have seen this answered an yes you can. I have read many that were complaining about the fact that Garmin dropped this off the 1000. So that is good news.


That had dropped it but must have restored it via a firmware update.

Here's what DCRainmaker said in his review of June 4, 2014.

However, in reality there’s one specific item that was dropped: The per-bike odometer. This means that at present you are unable to track how many miles a specific bike has been ridden. Rather, only a generic overall odometer for the Edge unit.

User avatar
GeoffInBrisbane
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby GeoffInBrisbane » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:04 pm

mikgit wrote:the 1000 can have milage for different bikes... here's an old pic, only difference now after a few updates is it gave me more by default that i haven't gotten around to removing
Image

\and as someone said, yes the segments are annoying, it takes away all your data for the duration of the segment and give you segment data...don't want that, so deleted all my segments for the device...annoying.


You own a Xizang but haven't ridden it anywhere? For SHAME, mikgit! :lol:
Veloviewer

MS-DOS Phone. For when you want it done right.

User avatar
Boognoss
Super Mod
Super Mod
Posts: 6877
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Castle Hill, NSW
Contact:

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby Boognoss » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:14 pm

biker jk wrote:
myway wrote:Thanks Mikgit for the information. That is the first time i have seen this answered an yes you can. I have read many that were complaining about the fact that Garmin dropped this off the 1000. So that is good news.


That had dropped it but must have restored it via a firmware update.

Here's what DCRainmaker said in his review of June 4, 2014.

However, in reality there’s one specific item that was dropped: The per-bike odometer. This means that at present you are unable to track how many miles a specific bike has been ridden. Rather, only a generic overall odometer for the Edge unit.


Yep, they did add the per-bike km count in a firmware update late in 2014 IIRC.

RE Garmin segments I've never used them - I upload to Garmin Connect post-ride which in turn updates MyFitnessPal with Cal count and Strava with the ride so I can check out Strava segments and analyse (via Veloviewer) and then manually log my rides on Bike Journal which keeps track of component usage and wear......

I think i might have a data obsession issue re-read what I just typed :mrgreen: .
Salsa Casseroll, Avanti Quantum, Specialized Tricross, Specialized Allez, Cell SS

mikgit
Posts: 657
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby mikgit » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:51 pm

GeoffInBrisbane wrote:
mikgit wrote:the 1000 can have milage for different bikes... here's an old pic, only difference now after a few updates is it gave me more by default that i haven't gotten around to removing
Image

\and as someone said, yes the segments are annoying, it takes away all your data for the duration of the segment and give you segment data...don't want that, so deleted all my segments for the device...annoying.


You own a Xizang but haven't ridden it anywhere? For SHAME, mikgit! :lol:


LOL, yeah that pic was from...early this year and the last update erased all my data, which didn't make me happy...but at least since then no issues with it... so I HAVE ridden it, just not as much as I should
Look 675 Pro Team, Cervelo R3, GT Xizang, GT Zaskar, Scott Spark 710, Yeti ARC

User avatar
GeoffInBrisbane
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby GeoffInBrisbane » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:19 pm

Haha okay I guess you are forgiven then. Maybe. :lol:
Veloviewer

MS-DOS Phone. For when you want it done right.

mikgit
Posts: 657
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Garmin Edge 810 or 1000

Postby mikgit » Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:17 pm

Just for you... hadn't had chainsuck in...forever, 3rd timetoday so figured time for a photo opp..
Image
Look 675 Pro Team, Cervelo R3, GT Xizang, GT Zaskar, Scott Spark 710, Yeti ARC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users