Which bike for me?

srga

Which bike for me?

Postby srga » Thu May 24, 2007 5:04 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to this whole forum thing, but thought I'd give it a go. I've just completed my first triathlon season, and thoroughly enjoyed it, am heading over to the states in July with uni and in the hunt for a new bike...the prices over there, including shipping are upwards of $1500 cheaper than here! I'd would love to hear some advice from others on what sort of bike I should pruchase when I head over - I'm relatively new to bikes, and thus far, my only requirements are full ultegra running gear and best value for money.

I'm looking for a new tri bike, and am torn between the Kestrel Talon, the Cervelo P2 SL and maybe the Giant Trinity Alliance 1. What are your thoughts? Do I need the full carbon frame offered by Kestrel? Is cervelo just the acest and I should stick with them or should I go for the composite frame offered by Giant, with its softness and firmness needed where necessary? I'm looking at spending <2,500 (US) for the complete package.

Many thanks guys, I'd appreciate any help or other suggestions.

srga.

europa
Location: southern end of Adelaide - home of hills, fixies and drop bears

Postby europa » Thu May 24, 2007 5:22 pm

You don't 'need' a full carbon frame, or any of the other stuff. You are the prime factor in how fast you go. However, buy the best you can afford and grow into it (and it sounds like you are well on your way :wink:).

I don't know the particular bikes nor do I understand the dictates of time trialling, but I do know the requirements are different to a bike designed for racing or training ... which is what this bike is going to spend most of its time doing :? So I guess it's a compromise and only you can answer that one.