Computers

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

Computers

Postby 15wilsonwu » Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:29 pm

Which do you think is the best cycling computer with basic functions thats below 100 bucks?
I love riding, not training
User avatar
15wilsonwu
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:31 pm

by BNA » Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:38 pm

BNA
 

Re: Computers

Postby Mulger bill » Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:38 pm

This is the right place for this sort of post Wilson.

Can you tell us what basic functions you want and whether you want wireless or not?

Shaun
...whatever the road rules, self-preservation is the absolute priority for a cyclist when mixing it with motorised traffic.
London Boy 29/12/2011
User avatar
Mulger bill
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 26325
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:41 pm
Location: Sunbury Vic

Re: Computers

Postby 15wilsonwu » Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:59 pm

Mulger bill wrote:This is the right place for this sort of post Wilson.

Can you tell us what basic functions you want and whether you want wireless or not?

Shaun


I'm thinking of some wireless computers, with functions like: Speedometer, Trip 1 & 2, Total distance, Clock, Elapsed time and average speed.
I love riding, not training
User avatar
15wilsonwu
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Computers

Postby Tim » Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:40 pm

Cateye Strada covers your needs. Wired or wireless models. Good product. I had two wired models for a couple of years prior to buying a Garmin and they both worked faultlessly. I trust Cateye for quality. I had an old clunky one twenty odd years ago and it ran for about 10 years without any complaints. They might be a bit more expensive than some but I think they are well made.
User avatar
Tim
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Gippsland Lakes

Re: Computers

Postby Big_Red » Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:03 am

+1 for the Cateye Strada. The wired version can be had for ~AU$45 delivered from Evans Cycles which is not bad considering with the little bit of searching i've done, i can't find it advertised in Australia for less than $50 (before delivery). I have a wired Cateye Velo 8 for the road bike which cost ~$20 about a year ago and is still going strong. The velo 8 only does trip 1 with no trip 2, which is the only main difference between that and the strada. I like the cateye computer so much i'm thinking of getting another wired velo 8 next time i buy a bike bit to replace the noname wireless computer on the mtb that malfunctions whenever i pull up at traffic lights, get buzzed by ufos, etc.
Image
User avatar
Big_Red
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:00 pm
Location: Brisbane East

Computers

Postby jamesn184 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:21 am

I use Strada 1609 wireless
Performs well, only ever had 1-2 issues were it froze for a bit in 4months of use..
Not sure on the price tho
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Computers

Postby bardygrub » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:28 am

Garmin Edge 200, seems to be the best ive found as in value for money.

Has all the functions from time, speed , distance altitude maps does not have cadence as the the more expesive garmins but you can share on garmin and other sites.
Image
Image
User avatar
bardygrub
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:33 pm
Location: North East Victoria

Re: Computers

Postby 15wilsonwu » Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:24 am

Would you guys suggest wireless? or wired?
I love riding, not training
User avatar
15wilsonwu
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Computers

Postby RonK » Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:48 am

15wilsonwu wrote:Would you guys suggest wireless? or wired?

I detest clutter on my bike frame. Alway use wireless.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...
User avatar
RonK
 
Posts: 5765
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Re: Computers

Postby bollo » Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:20 pm

i had a Sigma STS 1609 wireless with cadence which i just upgraded to a Garmin so if you are after a cheap sigma PM me
2013 Cube Lightning HPC SL Race
2012 Merida Scultura Evo 905
User avatar
bollo
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:35 pm
Location: St Clair

Re: Computers

Postby trailgumby » Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:32 pm

bardygrub wrote:Garmin Edge 200, seems to be the best ive found as in value for money.

Has all the functions from time, speed , distance altitude maps does not have cadence as the the more expesive garmins but you can share on garmin and other sites.

Wow, that is impressive for the money.
User avatar
trailgumby
 
Posts: 10409
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney

Re: Computers

Postby bardygrub » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:01 pm

trailgumby wrote:
bardygrub wrote:Garmin Edge 200, seems to be the best ive found as in value for money.

Has all the functions from time, speed , distance altitude maps does not have cadence as the the more expesive garmins but you can share on garmin and other sites.

Wow, that is impressive for the money.

Around 140$ what have you seen?
Image
Image
User avatar
bardygrub
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:33 pm
Location: North East Victoria

Re: Computers

Postby Mulger bill » Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:02 pm

bollo wrote:i had a Sigma STS 1609 wireless with cadence which i just upgraded to a Garmin so if you are after a cheap sigma PM me


This is a good deal.
...whatever the road rules, self-preservation is the absolute priority for a cyclist when mixing it with motorised traffic.
London Boy 29/12/2011
User avatar
Mulger bill
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 26325
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:41 pm
Location: Sunbury Vic

Re: Computers

Postby 15wilsonwu » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:08 pm

Mulger bill wrote:
bollo wrote:i had a Sigma STS 1609 wireless with cadence which i just upgraded to a Garmin so if you are after a cheap sigma PM me


This is a good deal.


thanks for the offer, but I dont really like the look of the Sigma :/ better off with Cateye
I love riding, not training
User avatar
15wilsonwu
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:31 pm

Re: Computers

Postby DavidS » Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:12 pm

I've been having trouble with my, around a few month old, Cateye wired Strada of late. It keeps dropping the speed (no cadence). I was riding home tonight and it was reading zero for about a KM and has done this on and off for a couple of weeks. Very irritating. I cleaned the contacts between the head unit and the cradle but to no avail. Any ideas where the problem might be?

DS
Image

Riding: Cannondale Quick Speed 2
User avatar
DavidS
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:24 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Computers

Postby bychosis » Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:29 pm

Battery in the sender? I think this happened with my old wireless unit (Echo brand) not long after I got it, can't remeber exact symptoms. Must've had dodgy batteres from the factory. Put in a new set and it worked great for another coulple of years.
bychosis (bahy-koh-sis): A mental disorder of delusions indicating impaired contact with a reality of no bicycles.
User avatar
bychosis
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Computers

Postby kb » Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:52 am

You've probably checked but most likely the magnet or pickup has been knocked slightly. Make sure they pass closely enough and are aligned.
Image
User avatar
kb
 
Posts: 996
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:22 pm

Re: Computers

Postby Gerry.M » Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:16 am

DavidS wrote:I've been having trouble with my, around a few month old, Cateye wired Strada of late. It keeps dropping the speed (no cadence). I was riding home tonight and it was reading zero for about a KM and has done this on and off for a couple of weeks. Very irritating. I cleaned the contacts between the head unit and the cradle but to no avail. Any ideas where the problem might be?

DS


Mine does this but it's due to my light interfering with the wireless signal.

When I have the light on flash it sometimes pauses at the one speed for a while, or just sits at 0.

It's ok when the light is on solid beam though.

Edit: Derp, just realised this is a wired unit you are talking about.......
Gerry.M
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:13 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Computers

Postby Bentnose » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:17 pm

I must have got a dodgy Cateye Strada 2, it quite often loses its signal, I had big issues with pairing the tranmitters and it vibrates very badly in its mount, so much that it changes modes itself. Did a long descent the other day at around 70kmh, it was sitting on zero almost every time I looked at it, does wonders for the average speed. I seem to have to change the batteries quite often as well and the battery cover slot that you need to put a coin in and turn is becoming very worn.
I put a Cateye Velo wireless on the missus bike and while it works fine, the maximum size of cable tie you can use on the mounts seem a little on the thin side.
Last edited by Bentnose on Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Last time I checked, 2014 Distance: 4800km Time: 205hr Rides: 186
User avatar
Bentnose
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:00 am
Location: Watsonia North, Victoria

Re: Computers

Postby Nobody » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:08 pm

DavidS wrote:I've been having trouble with my, around a few month old, Cateye wired Strada of late. It keeps dropping the speed (no cadence). I was riding home tonight and it was reading zero for about a KM and has done this on and off for a couple of weeks. Very irritating. I cleaned the contacts between the head unit and the cradle but to no avail. Any ideas where the problem might be?

DS
I've got a cadence wired which lost the cadence. Investigation showed that the cadence connection pin in the cradle had sunk a bit, so no connection. If I put a bit of foil in there I can sometimes get it to work. I need a new harness. Haven't bothered to buy one yet as speed still works.
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=60431
Nobody
 
Posts: 6718
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:10 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Computers

Postby DavidS » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:38 pm

Hmm, I'll have a good look at the alignment, cable and contacts. Worked fine today, but that would happen after I posted here.

DS
Image

Riding: Cannondale Quick Speed 2
User avatar
DavidS
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:24 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Buying a bike / parts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], redsonic



Popular Bike Shops
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Ebay Ebay AU
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers