Gitane Mach 1600 2005 - Can anyone help?

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

Gitane Mach 1600 2005 - Can anyone help?

Postby ThePom » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:55 pm

Hi All.. I am a total beginner (except cycling as a kid, but now in 40's!), and have somehow managed to get myself into the Syd-Gong ride to help raise funds for MS. I have been training for a few weeks n a borrowed bike, but am now enjoying my rides so much that I am going to be sorry to have to hand the bike back after the Gong ride!
So I started looking! I have found a Gitane Mach 1600 2005 road bike, with 9 speed Tiagra gearset & flightdeck (which I assume is the flick type levers?) advertised within my limited budget. Could anyone help as to wheteher this would be a good entry level bike, and offer any other advice in relation to what I should be looking out for? I have checked & the frame size is 53, which I am told would suit my 5'11 frame :|
Thanks heaps in advance for your help......
PS - I should add that I am trying here as I think google is sick of me searching for reviews (and I can't seem to find anything!)
ThePom

by BNA » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:26 pm

BNA

Re: Gitane Mach 1600 2005 - Can anyone help?

Postby A_P » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:26 pm

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
A 53cm might be a bit small for you. I am 6'1" and ride about a 57-58cm
check this out for a sizing calculator
http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za/CCY?PAGE=FIT_CALCULATOR_INTRO
A_P

Postby cherrycam » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:34 pm

Hi ThePom,

I have Gitane Mach 1600 from 2002/3 and the bike has been quite good. I have done over 40,000km on it, used mainly as a commuter and also weekend/event rides.

My seat pole broke the other day, which didn't cause me any physical grief. I do have a pannier connected to my seat pole and it also happened when I pushed back into my seat....Got a steel one on now.