Newbie - first post lots of questions

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

Newbie - first post lots of questions

Postby SydneyFC2010 » Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:16 pm

Hi,
This is my first post and I am new to bike riding. Basically the story is that I am an injured jogger who pulled out an old bike in the garage and actually found out that I like riding better than running in terms of keeping my body in an uninjured state. I have a lot of questions. I have an old Graicross Black Fox 26'' bike not really a mountain bike more a bike for general riding. I have got it working but I suspect the chain gears really need replacing. If I am to replace the gears what are the options and where should I start? If I start by replacing the rear wheel what sort of wheel would fit the frame? What about a cassette (not really sure if this is the right word) and the rear and front derailleur. At the moment I would prefer to replace the parts bit by bit as finances allow and I do have a sort of sentimental attachment to the frame. Are these frames any good at all? I would like to gradually build up a good bike. So what are the steps and options? Any help will be appreciated.
SydneyFC2010

by BNA » Fri Apr 19, 2013 9:29 pm

BNA

Re: Newbie - first post lots of questions

Postby antipodean » Fri Apr 19, 2013 9:29 pm

Bikes are cheap don't waste your time or money on the junker.
2013 Oppy SL
2013 Boardman CX Pro
2012 KHS Yuma 29er
antipodean

Postby trailgumby » Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:58 pm

Agree, not economic for what it is. Understand the sentiment, but you'll have a much more enjoyable experience after saving your pennies and investing in a better quality bike.
"People have a right to their own opinions, but not their own facts. Evidence must be located, not created, and opinions not backed by evidence cannot be given much weight." -- James W Loewen

http://www.facebook.com/Drive2WorkDay
trailgumby

Postby SydneyFC2010 » Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:41 am