Bike Advice Needed

cadnams

Bike Advice Needed

Postby cadnams » Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:49 pm

Hi guys,

I've had great advice here before, so I thought I'd try again.

I am buying a new bike. This is what I will be doing with it:

- Climbing
- Triathlon
- Long casual weekend rides

I am looking for an all-round bike capableof these things, with a preference for performance over comfort (if I had to choose).

My budget will max out at about $3,000 so I'm looking at everything with a list price of up to say $3,500. The frame is the most important thing to me, and a groupset no less than Shimano Ultegra (as a benchmark).

I am brand new to the whole bike-shopping thing so I was hoping you could point me in the right direction. When I've narrowed the field a little I will get out and test ride as many bikes as I can.

Thanks all.

Cheers,
C

RRalphy

Re: Bike Advice Needed

Postby RRalphy » Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:14 pm

maybe look into the cervelo s2, the frame is very aero for a drop bar road bike so would likely be handy for the triathlons. the one I used to have was also very light which is good for the climbing (though this might have been partly due to the components), not too comfy on the 100km rides but as you said you are willing to sacrifice on that.
regarding price for around $2600 you can get shimano 105 on the 2013 frame so I imagine you can get ultegra for around $3500-3800 (less if you are good at bargaining or can find a 2011 or 2012 frame floating about - there are some on bikeexchange though one thing to note with getting an older frame is that shops are likely to have limited sizes in stock DONT go for a frame that is the wrong size but the right price)

Duck!
Expert

Postby Duck! » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:09 pm