new in bris.. brand/model help needed

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

new in bris.. brand/model help needed

Postby angryassdrummer » Mon Jul 15, 2013 1:07 pm

hi all
im in the redlands area of brissie. looking to get into cycling for fitness and fun. about an hour or so a day riding around the area i live which is pretty flat. Note im note wanting to get into comps or racing.. just as a new hobby and for fitness.
im 36 yo, 6ft3 and 110 kilos, so the fitness side of cycling im excited for, hopefully help with my problematic back/knees too.
My question is where do i start? i know i want a road bike not a hybrid. I have been recommended online the Giant Defy 3 and by a local bike shop today the Merida Road LIte 91.
There was lots of info online about the Giant but little to none on the Merida.
Are these the type of bikes i should be starting with? i have about $1000 to spend on bike + accessories however cause im a full time student, every penny counts...so something even cheaper would be great ( in saying that, i do want quality, so if spending extra to get a LOT better, im ok with. just not for the sake of it or for a brand name)
Size wise, would the L size in the Defy and 56 in the Merida be about right? i know i should test them out, but just want to get approx sizing as i might be able to buy online cheaper or 2nd hand. again every penny counts
any other advice for someone new, just getting into cycling for fun and fitness?
any other advice, whether its on bikes, accessories like shoes/clothing etc etc would be very very greatly appreciated

Thanks
angryassdrummer

by BNA » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:25 pm

BNA

Re: new in bris.. brand/model help needed

Postby jasonc » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:25 pm

definitely test them out. 56 is on the small side for 6'3" (I run a 56 frame at 6ft tall where some suggest a 58)

each brand is different in their sizing though so you'll definitely have to make sure they fit