Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:15 pm

I need to get new cadence and speed sensors (killed all my Garmin ones). Also I seem to be endlessly adjusting cadence sensors in particular to get a connection and well on the fat bike I find I can easily kill the speed sensor when mounted on a fork.

So the short version is any experiences/comments on going with the hub mounted speed sensors and/or the magnetless cadence sensors?

Image

The ones I am referring to are like the [url="https://bbbcycling.com/en/accessories/phone-mounts/BCP-66"]BBB Smartcadence BCP-66[/url]and their [url="https://bbbcycling.com/en/accessories/phone-mounts/BCP-65"]Smartspeed BCP-65[/url] or similar from Wahoo or others.

This will be paired with a Wahoo Elemnt and possibility but less likely my Android phone [pairing to the phone is not a requirement by any means].

Comments on these types most welcome. Suggested brands/models also welcome.

Thanks
Andrew
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

mikgit
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:26 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby mikgit » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:29 pm

can't coment on the ones you;re looking at, I have a garmin cadence sensor and speed sensor. Never used the speed sensor,so it just sits in a box somewhere, but the cadence sensor works perfectly. You just mount it on the crank and away you go. Have changed the battery once in 3 years.
Look 675 Pro Team, Cervelo R3, GT Xizang, GT Zaskar, Scott Spark 710, Yeti ARC

User avatar
hamishm
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby hamishm » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:31 pm

I have the Garmin ones, they came with my Edge 1000 and seem to work fine. If the price is about the same I guess I'd get the BBB ones because they have Bluetooth and you never know.

User avatar
biker jk
Posts: 5854
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby biker jk » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:38 pm

I have a Magene which was around $26 and it works fine. It can be used as either a speed or cadence sensor.

https://goo.gl/6Jn9j1

User avatar
Tim
Posts: 1788
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Gippsland Lakes

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Tim » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:56 pm

I tried a Garmin hub speed sensor on my steel touring bike but it didn't work very well. Enquiries on the web revealed similar problems on steel bikes due to magnetic interference from the frame, chain and other steel parts. The recommended solution was to mount the sensor on the front hub closer to the head unit.This didn't work for me as it wouldn't attach to the wider diameter of a dynamo hub (and most likely similar manetic and radio interference from the dynamo).
The Garmin magnetless cadence sensor works perfectly.
Last edited by Tim on Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 9727
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby RonK » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:57 pm

Since you are using a Wahoo Elemnt, I think the smart choice would be the Wahoo sensors. Either the Wahoo RPM Speed & Cadence Sensor Bundle - Bluetooth or the Wahoo Blue SC.

Why? Because Wahoo can update the sensor firmware via the Wahoo app.

I'm using the Blue SC and have seen it update several times.

You can probably them at find better prices than the links I've posted.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:01 pm

RonK wrote:You can probably them at find better prices than the links I've posted.


Thanks for the links. My initial searches were not promising hence I was looking around at options. Bike24 for example cannot ship Wahoo to Australia the eBay prices where scary.

Pushy's prices are pretty much inline with say the BBB sensors ex Bike24.

I like your reasoning and it seems that these types of sensors work well.
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 9727
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby RonK » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:42 pm

Aushiker wrote:Bike24 for example cannot ship Wahoo to Australia...

Yes, I was surprised to see that. I bought my Elemnt from Bike24 a day before Xmas, so a fairly recent change.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:15 pm

RonK wrote:
Aushiker wrote:Bike24 for example cannot ship Wahoo to Australia...

Yes, I was surprised to see that. I bought my Elemnt from Bike24 a day before Xmas, so a fairly recent change.


Looks like it applies to the UK as well, as Evans Cycles will not ship to Australia. Anyway found the pair of sensors at Wildfire Sports and Trek with free postage, so saved a cup of coffee :)
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:26 pm

RonK wrote:Why? Because Wahoo can update the sensor firmware via the Wahoo app.


Are you using the Elemnt app for the upgrading or one of the other ones?
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 9727
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby RonK » Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:10 pm

Yes, the Elemnt app. Once the sensors are registered the app will warn when firmware updates are available for the Elemnt or the sensors and install them whenever you choose.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:36 pm

RonK wrote:Yes, the Elemnt app. Once the sensors are registered the app will warn when firmware updates are available for the Elemnt or the sensors and install them whenever you choose.


Thanks. It seems Wahoo have a plethora of apps.
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

Patt0
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:31 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Patt0 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:06 am

https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-C2-Blu ... mds=search

https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-S1-Blu ... mds=search

I have these coming to replace the duotrap on my commuter is unreliable. The original wahoo speed sensor that came with my elemnt was faulty, but replaced quickly by wahoo. For my cafe bike I ponied up and bought the wahoo sensors.
Image

caneye
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:32 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby caneye » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:14 am

I've got the Wahoo RPM cadence sensor too. Effortless to set-up.
I've tied it to my shoe so I can use the same sensor on different bikes :lol:

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:21 am

Patt0 wrote:I have these coming to replace the duotrap on my commuter is unreliable.


Will be interesting to hear how you go with them. Please do report back if you remember.
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

nevyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:54 am

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby nevyn » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:49 am

I'm using the wahoo RPM speed and cadence sensors with my Samsung S7 and ipbike.. they seem ok..

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:22 pm

I have a couple of pairs of Wahoo sensors coming from Wildfire Sports. Best price I could find in Australia.
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

Baalzamon
Posts: 5341
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Baalzamon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:36 pm

Tim wrote:I tried a Garmin hub speed sensor on my steel touring bike but it didn't work very well. Enquiries on the web revealed similar problems on steel bikes due to magnetic interference from the frame, chain and other steel parts. The recommended solution was to mount the sensor on the front hub closer to the head unit.This didn't work for me as it wouldn't attach to the wider diameter of a dynamo hub (and most likely similar manetic and radio interference from the dynamo).
The Garmin magnetless cadence sensor works perfectly.


I've got speed and cadence sensor mounted on my steel masi cx working fine. 105 rear hub.
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image

User avatar
Aushiker
Posts: 22010
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Aushiker » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:27 pm

Received my Wahoo sensors today from http://wildfire.com.au. Pretty impressed as they sent them Express post and at no cost to me. As well they have provided a $10 discount code [have to use it in a month, spend minimum of $80]. I will not use it so if you want it drop me a PM.
Andrew
~ Aushiker.com

User avatar
hamishm
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby hamishm » Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:25 am

Baalzamon wrote:I've got speed and cadence sensor mounted on my steel masi cx working fine. 105 rear hub.

I have the Garmin sensors mounted on my steel Curve Grovel also working fine.

eeksll
Posts: 2287
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:36 pm

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby eeksll » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:34 pm

Patt0 wrote:https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-C2-Bluetooth-ANT-Multi-protocol-Cadence-Sensor-Magnetless-4g-Ultralight-IPX7-300-Days-Stand-p-1173010.html?rmmds=search

https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-S1-Blu ... mds=search

I have these coming to replace the duotrap on my commuter is unreliable. The original wahoo speed sensor that came with my elemnt was faulty, but replaced quickly by wahoo. For my cafe bike I ponied up and bought the wahoo sensors.


How are the cycplus working for you? I got the cycplus cadence sensor off ebay (funnily enough I got it for my "cafe" bike so I could hot glue it to the back of a crank to make things look a bit neater) and initial playing around on the trainer has the cadence not returning to zero for a very long time (didnt compare it to the garmin yet).

eeksll
Posts: 2287
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:36 pm

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby eeksll » Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:00 pm

eeksll wrote:
Patt0 wrote:https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-C2-Bluetooth-ANT-Multi-protocol-Cadence-Sensor-Magnetless-4g-Ultralight-IPX7-300-Days-Stand-p-1173010.html?rmmds=search

https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-S1-Blu ... mds=search

I have these coming to replace the duotrap on my commuter is unreliable. The original wahoo speed sensor that came with my elemnt was faulty, but replaced quickly by wahoo. For my cafe bike I ponied up and bought the wahoo sensors.


How are the cycplus working for you? I got the cycplus cadence sensor off ebay (funnily enough I got it for my "cafe" bike so I could hot glue it to the back of a crank to make things look a bit neater) and initial playing around on the trainer has the cadence not returning to zero for a very long time (didnt compare it to the garmin yet).


bit more playing around, the garmin seems to be ok with this, its just the Elite android app for my trainer which doesn't seem to want to change promptly.

Although the wahoo sensor seems to work fine with the Elite android app (it does seem to just completely drop out though)

User avatar
rifraf
Posts: 3378
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 pm
Location: Two Rocks, WA

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby rifraf » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:23 am

Tim wrote:I tried a Garmin hub speed sensor on my steel touring bike but it didn't work very well. Enquiries on the web revealed similar problems on steel bikes due to magnetic interference from the frame, chain and other steel parts. The recommended solution was to mount the sensor on the front hub closer to the head unit.This didn't work for me as it wouldn't attach to the wider diameter of a dynamo hub (and most likely similar manetic and radio interference from the dynamo).
The Garmin magnetless cadence sensor works perfectly.

Hi Tim.
My Rohloff hub is pretty big.
I attached my Garmin speed sensor by adding/joining some of the rubber bands used as an option offered to hold the headunit to handle bars.
I think two or three of the o ring bands did the job just fine.
Worried about interference from my dynohub, the IGH was the only option if I wanted to utilise the sensor.
I've only fitted my new 1030 to the bike the other day but the sensors appear the same as my 1000 unit and they worked fine on my steel framed Surly Ogre.
The sensors don't appear to start working until the wheel is actually spinning at which an aware pair of eyes might pick up on the glowing green tiny LED light in both sensors.
Recommend you give them another twirl before giving up.
Let us know how you get on.
Good luck :)
Surly Ogre, Carry Freedom Y-frame Trailer, Extrawheel trailer.

User avatar
Tim
Posts: 1788
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Gippsland Lakes

Re: Magnetless Speed and Cadence Sensors

Postby Tim » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:13 am

Hiya rifraf.
I gave up on the sensor on my VWR and just use GPS for speed and distance readings.
I think the problem is specific to just that one bike as the sensor works fine on my other bikes which aren't steel framed.
The other bikes were already fitted with earlier magnet and sensor setups so the newer one has been consigned to the cardboard goody box underneath my bed.
I might need it one day, along with the 5 pairs of on-special shorts, 3 on-special cassettes, 3 on-special chains, 5 on-special bartapes, 2 on special BB's, 7 on-special chainrings, 4 on-special tubes etc. etc. etc. :D
I can't resist a "bargain".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users