Installing a carbon railed saddle

jamesn184
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:43 pm

I've recently picked up a fizik carbon railed saddle and just wanted to know if I needed a special clamp if I was to pair such saddle with a http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ritchey-wcs-carbon-seat-post-ud-finish-2011/
Image

User avatar
trailgumby
Posts: 11695
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:30 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby trailgumby » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:46 pm

I've sometimes wondered about this, but I think the answer is no, nothing special. Just pay attention to the manufacturer's notes on rail clamp bolt torque maximums if they have them specified. However, I think this is is normally the province of the post manufacturer.
When all else fails, persistence prevails -- Lew Hollander

User avatar
Duck!
Expert
Posts: 4510
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby Duck! » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:54 pm

If they're round rails, no, you do not need a special clamp, just be sure to keep the clamp within the limit marks on the rails. Some carbon rails are 7mm x 9mm oval section; these require specific clamps.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.

DoubleSpeeded
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby DoubleSpeeded » Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:02 pm

yeh, dont be fooled by "oooh carbon, ..rolls royce of saddles....lets get it!"

it happened to me before and i had to exchange it for a Titanium railed version.

the Two things you need to watch out for:

1.) Titanium or steel rails are round in diameter.
alot of the Carbon saddles are oval shaped.
You may need a new clamp that is suited to carbon saddles.

2.) Depending on the type of bike which you did not specify.
if its a MTB or Road bike that has a cylindrical seat post.. i think ritchey sell a retro fit carbon clamp/conversion.

but if it was like me... my TT bike had an Aero Carbon seat post that is specific to the bike brand.. not a universal cylindrical . and the clamp is also specific to the brand of bike... and the manufacturer did not design or make a clamp to suit carbon saddles.

pictured:

Image


as you can See, Quintana Roo supplied the Adamo which is round titanium...

several people online have actually drilled out the clamp to suit the carbon saddles... but i would not recommend this as it is not manufacturer intended and can be a hazard to your health if something goes wrong

giantcfr1
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Kyoto, JAPAN originally Gold Coast, QLD

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby giantcfr1 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:36 pm

DoubleSpeeded wrote:...
alot of the Carbon saddles are oval shaped
...

This is correct, in fact the instructions that came with my Fizik saddle states you MUST use a clamp compatible with the oval shape.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users