Magellan Cyclo 505

User avatar
jules21
Posts: 10331
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:14 pm
Location: deep in the pain cave

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby jules21 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:26 pm

PiratePete wrote:Without sounding argumentative, I'd be contacting the seller and getting them to de-register so you can resolve the issue with Magellan and take advantage of the features available, regardless of the outcome from the factory reset.

it's not really an option for me to contact the previous owner. I'll try the factory reset, or if that doesn't work hound Magellan to unlock it. I just don't get it as someone who is obviously a potential future customer, any half-clever business would not want to needlessly alienate me. there's no similar issue with Garmins.

User avatar
Toyopet
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Toyopet » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:06 pm

Just want to give a big thanks to Magellan/Mio/Mitac for their service support.

One of the two lips on my Cyclo 505’s twist-mount tab on the back of the unit snapped off recently. It would still sit in its mount, but not as securely. Despite the unit being out of warranty (a year and half old) they came to the party and provided an RMA for me to send it back to them. A new unit arrived in the mail today, complete with the latest firmware installed. So I’ve just deregistered my old unit via Cyclo Agent and registered the newie.

Couldn’t ask for better service! :D

defy1
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:40 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby defy1 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:19 am

Thats great support and service.

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:29 pm

Any news on any map updates for Aussie users? Maps are now about 2 years old according to Cycloagent for my device.

Zcootz
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:24 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Zcootz » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:54 pm

Sully wrote:Wifi sync deletes my live segments


Same problem. I have a support call in with Magellan to sort this out but so far nothing they have suggested trying seems to work. I'll keep you guys posted on progress.

Zcootz
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:24 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Zcootz » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:05 pm

jules21 wrote:
PiratePete wrote:Without sounding argumentative, I'd be contacting the seller and getting them to de-register so you can resolve the issue with Magellan and take advantage of the features available, regardless of the outcome from the factory reset.

it's not really an option for me to contact the previous owner. I'll try the factory reset, or if that doesn't work hound Magellan to unlock it. I just don't get it as someone who is obviously a potential future customer, any half-clever business would not want to needlessly alienate me. there's no similar issue with Garmins.



I would suggest that if you cannot receive satellite signals then the unit may have been stolen at some point in time. I know this from bitter experience, my son's Cyclo 505 was stollen, I spoke to Magellan and have had it flagged so the unit will shut down as soon as a sync is attempted and will be bricked. I had to supply proof of original purchase, not hard, I have receipts, original packaging, serial numbers and a police report. From a customer service perspective I think thats awesome on Magellan's part, at least the thief won't get value from it.

That said I purchase a second hand unit (to replace the pinched one) that was locked, was able to supply proof of a legitimate purchase from the previous owner and Magellan unlocked it in a flash.

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:20 pm

So 've had to recover my device after I had issues with it. All worked great, no problems, except for HERE maps, which wont install. OSM maps did. On closer inspection, the ZIP file that is downloaded by cycloagent is always corrupted, which I'm guessing is the reason for this.

Any idea where I can download the zip for HERE maps manually?

Thanks.


EDIT: All fixed. Only took me about 12 attempts before the zip file was not corrupted.

Chiips
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Chiips » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:28 am

Wondering if any of yers have had trouble pairing new sensors since the latest firmware update?

I've had no success pairing a new Ultegra Di2 and also a Jetblack speed/cadence sensor recently, perhaps both coincidentally after the update.

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:19 am

Chiips wrote:Wondering if any of yers have had trouble pairing new sensors since the latest firmware update?

I've had no success pairing a new Ultegra Di2 and also a Jetblack speed/cadence sensor recently, perhaps both coincidentally after the update.


I received one with 4.4 on it and pairing my SC and HR was the same as previous. They are a cantankerous device when it come to pairing. Try and ensure that there is only one sensor awake when pairing, I've noticed that they seem to get upset when multiple signals exist.
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

Chiips
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Chiips » Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:39 pm

PiratePete wrote:
Chiips wrote:Wondering if any of yers have had trouble pairing new sensors since the latest firmware update?

I've had no success pairing a new Ultegra Di2 and also a Jetblack speed/cadence sensor recently, perhaps both coincidentally after the update.


I received one with 4.4 on it and pairing my SC and HR was the same as previous. They are a cantankerous device when it come to pairing. Try and ensure that there is only one sensor awake when pairing, I've noticed that they seem to get upset when multiple signals exist.


thanks for the reply. Still can't get it to work :( Uncertain if it's SC issues or Cyclo or other? Thinking it could be SC sensor (BT/ANT+) as I can't find it on iPad either.

Q: Do you know if Cyclo 505 automatically searches for sensors and lists them, or do we need to press "pair new sensor" to actively look for sensors. i.e. Settings --> Sensors --> S/C green tick --> S/C Should any awake sensors be listed there without pressing further buttons?

bertiowl
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:25 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby bertiowl » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:30 am

Gday all
Thanks for all the previous posts, its been a great help over the years :D
Having resolved the recent Strava syncing issues I now have the issue my 500 unit will not recognise that I am a premium member and unlock the segment feature...even though it is syncing starred segments.
Any thoughts? Cheers

zultan
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby zultan » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:16 pm

canadiancyclist wrote:Hi Guys,

I've run into a few problems with my 505.

First, when I "check for updates" through CycloAgent (2.1.37.2), it fails to connect to MagellanShare servers. Is anyone else having this problem? I've even tried downloading different versions of CycloAgent (2.1.39.2) (2.1.47.2) but no luck with those either.

The reason that I need to connect to the server is that I had to restore my device. I deleted all the data in the system folder, and when I go to restore the device, it can't connect to re-download the files. I've now got a bricked 505, so my next question is.... does anyone know where I can manually download all the software for either version 4.2.4 or version 4.4? Thanks so much.


Did you ever resolve this? I am trying to update to 4.4 but Cycolagent (latest version) keeps telling me to check my internet connection.

AdN
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby AdN » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:30 pm

Im pretty disappointed that the garmin magnetless sensors are not support by the 505.

How often are updates released? Would it be worth it to wait or should i try and trade my magnetless sensor for the older style?

User avatar
cancan64
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby cancan64 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:29 am

AdN wrote:Im pretty disappointed that the garmin magnetless sensors are not support by the 505.

How often are updates released? Would it be worth it to wait or should i try and trade my magnetless sensor for the older style?


The main bike that I would like to use the Magellan on has the magnet-less sensors... dont want to change sensors so use a Garmin for that bike.
“Some say he isn’t machine washable, and all his potted plants are called ‘Steve’.

defy1
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:40 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby defy1 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:07 pm

plugged in the magellan and noticed there is an update available. 4.4.7..however when trying to update it keeps saying unable to connect MagellanCyclo server. Anyone else having this problem?

defy1
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:40 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby defy1 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:20 pm

also what run times does everyone get nowdays? my almost 2 year old Magellan is down to about 6-7 hours. Does anyone know if the battery can be replaced?

cryptos
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby cryptos » Mon May 01, 2017 3:17 pm

My cyclo 505 software presents an available update, however looks to me
like the url is incorrect broken (perhaps space between "App 4.4.7.1.Zip")

No file found at: http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/A ... cation/App 4.4.7.1.zip

2017/5/1 09:28:50:988 [NetInterface][getFile]
Url:http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/Agent/Application/App 4.4.7.1.zip Dest:/Applications/CycloAgent/temp/App 4.4.7.1.zip
2017/5/1 09:28:50:989 [NetInterface][getFile]file not exist
2017/5/1 09:28:50:990 [NetInterface][getFile] 6

zultan
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby zultan » Mon May 08, 2017 9:40 am

cryptos wrote:My cyclo 505 software presents an available update, however looks to me
like the url is incorrect broken (perhaps space between "App 4.4.7.1.Zip")

No file found at: http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/A ... cation/App 4.4.7.1.zip

2017/5/1 09:28:50:988 [NetInterface][getFile]
Url:http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/Agent/Application/App 4.4.7.1.zip Dest:/Applications/CycloAgent/temp/App 4.4.7.1.zip
2017/5/1 09:28:50:989 [NetInterface][getFile]file not exist
2017/5/1 09:28:50:990 [NetInterface][getFile] 6


Thanks for this, I've been able to download the zip file manually -- is there any way to do a local update?

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Mon May 08, 2017 5:59 pm

My PC just carried out a hefty Win10 update last night, took about an hour or so, so it must have been major.

Now, my PC will not recognize my Cyclo 505 when plugged in. I can't run Cycloagent as it doesn't see it.

Anyone else having the same problem?

Thanks.

Sully
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:41 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Sully » Mon May 08, 2017 8:20 pm

Mine is working.

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Tue May 09, 2017 8:37 am

I think I figured what I've done. Unfortunately, I've formatted the drives on the unit as NTFS instead of FAT file system.

No computer now will recognise it, even with the correct virtual com port driver loaded.

Am open to any suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Tue May 09, 2017 10:28 am

fab4272 wrote:I think I figured what I've done. Unfortunately, I've formatted the drives on the unit as NTFS instead of FAT file system.

No computer now will recognise it, even with the correct virtual com port driver loaded.

Am open to any suggestions.

Thanks in advance.


Format them again as FAT. Once mounted as fat do a restore using the cycloagent. Failing that if you dig into the file structure of cycloagent (sorry can't point you as mine is on a mac), you should locate the back up data file. extract it somewhere and then just copy that to the 2 filesystems on the unit. Disconnect, restart and you should be back on track.

I did this manual extraction process a couple of years ago (minus the formatting as NTFS) to create a clone 505 for troubleshooting a fault introduced in 4.2.x
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Tue May 09, 2017 11:17 am

Thanks for the suggestion, but I can't even see the drives when connected to my PC or any other PC. The usb drives full to load as they do not recognise the unit. I feel this has to do with me formatting it as NTFS and now I feel I've bricked it.

ball bearing
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: Watching the ships on the Southern Ocean

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby ball bearing » Tue May 09, 2017 11:24 am

fab4272 wrote:My PC just carried out a hefty Win10 update last night, took about an hour or so, so it must have been major.

Now, my PC will not recognize my Cyclo 505 when plugged in. I can't run Cycloagent as it doesn't see it.

Anyone else having the same problem?

Thanks.

Same here. My 505 is not seen by Cyclo Agent or my PC since the Win 10 Creator update. 105 works fine.

fab4272
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Wed May 10, 2017 12:35 pm

Little bit more on this. My WIn10 PC detects the unit, but cannot work out what it is, so it doesn't mount it as a drive.

Same in Linux, the OS detects it, but can't work it out.

I have a feeling is has something to do with formatting it as a NTFS system. Still, I feel that even if I can fix this, then my install of Win10 will not work as it has the latest Win10 creator on it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]