Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby ldrcycles » Sat Jun 30, 2012 12:07 pm

I'm looking at getting a GPS, basically just for my own amusement with gradients etc and having a go at strava times. So i'm after something that has no frills, just a GPS that will allow me to know after a ride, you went here, this hill was xx big, this hill was xx gradient (heck something like the i-gotU might even be sufficient, i have a speedo to tell me speed and distance as i'm going). But specifically, between the Bryton and Garmin, which would be best?
From my googling it appears both will do what i want, but are there any problems i should be aware of?
When man invented the bicycle he reached the peak of his attainments- Elizabeth West.
User avatar
ldrcycles
 
Posts: 6787
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:19 pm
Location: Kin Kin, Queensland

by BNA » Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:50 pm

BNA
 

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby angelvalerie » Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:50 pm

I have garmin 310xt and it is great. I went through 3 other HR monitor devices previously, none were as good. Just my 2c worth
angelvalerie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:43 pm

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby gururug » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:40 pm

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53537&p=813802&hilit=bryton#p813802 here is a thread from a few months back albeit with different models.

I think i'd go the bryton.
User avatar
gururug
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:05 pm

Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby Riggsbie » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:55 pm

Can you upload the Bryton straight to Stava,?

My friend just got the Bryton 50 and it will not upload directly to Strava.......my Garmin 705 does it straight away.......no fuss.....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Image
User avatar
Riggsbie
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Geelong, Vic

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby nickdos » Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:53 pm

Bryton has one big advantage over the Garmin, in that it supports ANT+ for HRM and cadence/speed sensors (Garmin has no ANT+). In particular if you are planning on using for MTBing, then getting a speed sensor add-on can result in much more accurate distances for rides (GPS tends to cut off corners of single track and thus reduces total ride distance by up to 5%).

Uploading to Strava is a one-step process for Garmin but a 2-step process for Bryton (not a big deal). There are rumours of a brwoser plugin for Bryton which will rectify this.

FYI I have a Garmin 500, so don't have actual experience with either but I did research them both when trying decide what to get.
Image
nickdos
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:45 pm
Location: Canberra, ACT

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby bjohnson » Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:38 pm

I'm new to the sport and upgraded to an Edge 200 within a few months.
Mainly for the reasons that you stated.

I've been really happy with mine.
bjohnson
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:39 am

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby silentbutdeadly » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:36 am

I just bought the Garmin 200 for pretty much the reasons you state. Looking at the Bryton it has the advantage of being able to upgrade to use HR and cadence sensors but the downside is that the Bryton firmware is a closed shop (compared to the Garmin). Also the Bryton interface is clunky by comparison to the Garmin experience.

Ultimately the Garmin is not a significantly better tool but the user experience is....

The one difficulty I have had with the Garmin is its attitude to laps. I can see why Strava has become so popular with its KOM segments because this is a functionality that Garmin Connect just doesn't have - but GC is essential if one has regular training courses (because Strava is not very helpful in this respect)....so the upshot is that you need to use the same data on two different websites to get the most reward. Fortunately, the upload and update takes only seconds on either site.
Ours is not to reason why...merely to point and giggle
User avatar
silentbutdeadly
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:52 am
Location: Somewhere flat...

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby clackers » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:12 pm

nickdos wrote: (Garmin has no ANT+).


It must, Nick!

I use two of their sensors with a Bryton.
User avatar
clackers
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby DavidTomic » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:25 pm

clackers wrote:
nickdos wrote: (Garmin has no ANT+).


It must, Nick!

I use two of their sensors with a Bryton.


He means specifically in regards to the entry level Edge 200 (which is what the OP is talking about). The higher end Garmin models all support ANT+ devices.
User avatar
DavidTomic
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:49 pm
Location: Caroline Springs, VIC

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby clackers » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:43 pm

Thanks, David - My bad, guys!
User avatar
clackers
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby PBF » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:51 pm

Going through the same process now.

What is ANT+? If i am after a speedo that can swing between both my bikes, is it best to look at one of these 2?
PBF
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby ozdavo » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:26 am

ANT+ is the wireless standard used for connecting speed/ cadence sensors, HRM, power meters.
It means you don't need sensors from a particular company, you can choose from all available ANT+ sensors.
You don't need sensors, they will use GPS data for speed & distance, but will be more accurate, particularly in the bush or CBDs with lots of high rises.
Always looking for new rides & ride partners in SE QLD area
User avatar
ozdavo
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Gold Coast (nth)

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby HLC » Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:03 pm

I was going to buy a Garmin 500..

ended up getting a Garmin 200 cheap on here!!

Is great, no complaints!!

Considering I ride my track bike everywhere, I had no need for the cadence sensor - it's fixed, and I know the speed/cadence ratio for my gearing... and I don't need a HRM to tell me when I am in the pain box.

I have a few mates with Garmin 500's... One uses HRM, Cadence Sensor etc, and the other doesn't. Having the ambient temp feature is a nice touch though - but again, I know when it's effin hot/cold lol!

Garmin 200 is great value for money. Highly recommended.
User avatar
HLC
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney.

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby PBF » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:54 pm

I ended up getting a bryton rider 30 with a HRM for $199. Another bike shop was selling them for $250 without the HRM.

Not sure if i got it for really cheap or if the other shop was just really expensive.
PBF
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby KonaCommuter » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:19 pm

Just for anyone who may read this in the future.


Here's my experience with the Bryton 20

Bryton say's that they're compatible with Macs but it's "kinda" compatible. Whenever you connect the device an error message comes up that you have to drag off to the side because if you choose any of the options you run the risk of the Mac refusing to talk to the GPS. Then there is the mandatory software. Again, kinda compatible as it frequently crashes.

The USB cable is annoyingly short.

The connection between the GPS and the computer is unique and I've had to have mine replaced as it wouldn't clip in properly.

The connections from the HRM to the HRM strap broke today. I don't know if it's good or not but mine lasted 7 months.
2012 Oppy A4
User avatar
KonaCommuter
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Brisbane Northside

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby Hammo » Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:14 am

I recently purchased a Garmin 200 and so far have been very happy with it! Question for anyone who might know. When I do a climb with a mate (he uses the iphone strava app) His always seems to record more meters climbed. For example we did Mt Cootha this morning the Garmin on Strava says I did 288m and my mates iphone recorded it as 355m.

Anyone know which is more accurate?
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby clackers » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:03 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:
The connection between the GPS and the computer is unique.


Just a USB cable, isn't it, KonaCommuter?
User avatar
clackers
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby ozdavo » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:08 pm

Hammo wrote:I recently purchased a Garmin 200 and so far have been very happy with it! Question for anyone who might know. When I do a climb with a mate (he uses the iphone strava app) His always seems to record more meters climbed. For example we did Mt Cootha this morning the Garmin on Strava says I did 288m and my mates iphone recorded it as 355m.

Anyone know which is more accurate?

Both will be fairly inaccurate as neither have a Barometric altimeter and only rely on GPS for elevation. That said, Garmin Connect has a elevation correction function I believe, that should give a more accurate reflection of elevation.
Always looking for new rides & ride partners in SE QLD area
User avatar
ozdavo
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Gold Coast (nth)

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby Hammo » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:13 pm

Ok thanks, haven't actually used the Garmin site yet, I just upload to strava and that's it!
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby darkelf921 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:07 pm

I looked at them both and chose the Garmin 200. I've been really happy with it. I use the Garmin Connect site and Strava. It's such a simple thing to use. I got it really quite cheap. I'd suggest it as a good buy.
Image
My YouTube channel http://goo.gl/UlJrkN
User avatar
darkelf921
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:03 pm

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby clackers » Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:41 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:
The connection between the GPS and the computer is unique and I've had to have mine replaced as it wouldn't clip in properly.


Oh, I see what you mean. Never seen anything like it! The other models are just standard micro USB.
User avatar
clackers
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby roamsite » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:24 pm

I have the garmin 500 and love it, had the 200 but really like the 500 which I got through the bay for $230.
roamsite
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Garmin 200 or Bryton 20?

Postby ldrcycles » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:56 am

I ended up getting a Bryton, one of the main reasons being my preferred LBS stocked it so i knew i would get good service if there were any issues.
So far i'm happy with it, the only issues i've had have been with the Bryton website, i've found it very annoying to use. As an example, although it has a button for uploading to strava, in my case it just won't work, so i have to save the file to my computer as a GPX and then manually upload it to Strava. First world problem yes but it's little things that make the difference between a satisfactory product and a good one.
When man invented the bicycle he reached the peak of his attainments- Elizabeth West.
User avatar
ldrcycles
 
Posts: 6787
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:19 pm
Location: Kin Kin, Queensland


Return to Buying a bike / parts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit