Garmin Edge 500

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby grasshopper » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:17 pm

danny the boy wrote:At what point does the device run out of space? And does anyone here clear it regularly or put it on a usb or something? Thanks in advance.

Don't know, but when it seemed too slow I copied all the files and deleted them off the Garmin. About 18 months' worth. Quicker now, especially on Strava.
User avatar
grasshopper
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:04 pm
Location: Melbourne

by BNA » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:25 pm

BNA
 

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby CRV » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:25 pm

Hi all, my first post here :D I,ve had my Edge 500 going on 7 months and so far so good. I did have a few issues main one being unit freezing up when I had a course selected and not being able to scroll between screens. I have installed firmware 3 since then and no problems yet, seems to have done the trick, also keeping the unit relatively free of files and a reset has seen it working A1 for me :!: :!: Touch plank :!: :D
CRV
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:35 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:37 am

My Edge 500 failed to acquire the GPS signal for the entire commute yesterday. It has been getting slower and slower to attain the GPS signal of late, particularly if you are moving. I had my philips light on yesterday morning, which maybe confused it with interference. It had no satellite speed or location for the entire ride, only HR and cadence, so it came up on strava as a stationary trainer session last night. Lost about 300-400 m in my strava climbing challenge :cry: :lol: http://www.bicycles.net.au/forums/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=59514

Anyway I deleted all my rides off it yesterday after uploading to strava and garmin connect and with much trepidation installed firmware 3.0. I started the unit up while getting my shoes and helmet on this morning, to give it plenty of time to get a signal. All good, seemed to operate perfectly all ride, well I couldn't see it for the first half, as it was too dark, but the recorded distance seems correct :)
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby Ross » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:49 am

warthog1 wrote: I couldn't see it for the first half, as it was too dark, but the recorded distance seems correct :)


You know to press the top left button that lights up the display?
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 4059
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby Summernight » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:38 am

Is there a new update for it? I got mine in January this year.

It seems slow to acquire satellites when in the CBD with all the skyscrapers around. Much faster at home, even when completely indoors with the blinds down, which makes no sense. It usually takes a minute to find the satellites but that doesn't bother me when heading out from home because I turn it on before putting my shoes on, so while I'm wasting time fiddling around it is finding the satellites. I wish mine located satellites in 30seconds like the instruction manual says it can do.
User avatar
Summernight
 
Posts: 1801
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:52 am

Ross wrote:You know to press the top left button that lights up the display?


No I didn't. Thanks for that:)
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby oxonabike » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:53 am

I bit the bullet and updated my firmware to 3.0 a couple of weeks back. I did a bit of research though, and ensured I had all user data deleted before the attempt, and also noted the bit about not disconnecting it until told to do so - even if there seemed to be a significant wait. However everything went better than expected - in that it came out the other side actually working, and quite well.

My Edge 500 failed to acquire the GPS signal for the entire commute yesterday. It has been getting slower and slower to attain the GPS signal of late, particularly if you are moving. I had my philips light on yesterday morning,


On my way to work on Tuesday Morning, I glanced at the unit, and noted it was "updating Satellite software" (or similar) complete with progress bar graph. Had no idea it could do that, nor where it was getting this data from. I had a bad feeling about this, but it eventually finished, did a search for satellites, acquired, then resumed tracking the run - did not interrupt the track at all. Probably took about 3 or 4 minutes. Strange, but worked out okay.

A far as interference goes, I once had a horrible Kaiser Baas camera mounted on the bars. Kept on getting dodgy readings and tracks from the garmin, so one day I went to settings and checked the satellite signal strength (camera off) - all was good. As soon as the camera was switched on, the signal bars plummeted towards the bottom of the scale, restoring only when either moving the camera or switching it off.
Image
User avatar
oxonabike
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Cairns, QLD

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:29 am

Summernight wrote:Is there a new update for it? I got mine in January this year.

It seems slow to acquire satellites when in the CBD with all the skyscrapers around. Much faster at home, even when completely indoors with the blinds down, which makes no sense. It usually takes a minute to find the satellites but that doesn't bother me when heading out from home because I turn it on before putting my shoes on, so while I'm wasting time fiddling around it is finding the satellites. I wish mine located satellites in 30seconds like the instruction manual says it can do.


I don't know if yours would have version 3.0 but if you go to Garmin.connect.com it will tell you if your 500's software is up to date.

My 500 takes about a minute to get the satellites if I'm stationary too. Longer if I'm moving.
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:31 am

oxonabike wrote:
A far as interference goes, I once had a horrible Kaiser Baas camera mounted on the bars. Kept on getting dodgy readings and tracks from the garmin, so one day I went to settings and checked the satellite signal strength (camera off) - all was good. As soon as the camera was switched on, the signal bars plummeted towards the bottom of the scale, restoring only when either moving the camera or switching it off.


Thanks, didn't know about that one either. :)
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:27 am

Still going well with no crash of the software and still taking about 1 minute to acquire the satellites.
With software version 2.8 you had to press and hold reset when restarting the device to save the last activity and were prompted to do so when it started. Version 3.0 hasn't been prompting me to press and hold reset but I've been doing so anyway. Do I need to?
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby oxonabike » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:05 am

With software version 2.8 you had to press and hold reset when restarting the device to save the last activity and were prompted to do so when it started. Version 3.0 hasn't been prompting me to press and hold reset but I've been doing so anyway. Do I need to?


I have always pressed and held reset at the end of each ride, just prior to powering down, and still do it with V3 firmware. In the past, when I have forgotten to do this, the 'active' file was saved as soon as you plugged the USB cable in.
Image
User avatar
oxonabike
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Cairns, QLD

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby warthog1 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:19 pm

Thanks Ox.
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 3087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500

Postby esky64 » Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:12 pm

Hope this help other poeple
It works greaaaaaaaaaaaaaat
http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2010/08/solu ... pikes.html
esky64
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:16 pm
Location: Bright

Previous

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aushiker, bychosis, duds2u, garibaldi, ray



Popular Bike Shops
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Ebay Ebay AU
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers