A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

usernameforme
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Adelaide

A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby usernameforme » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:22 pm

Hey guys;

Bit of an odd one I know, but I was wondering if I could find a cycle computer that would tell you everything but your CURRENT speed, ie it will tell you your distance, time, max speed, cadence, other fancy stuff, etc. Seems a bit pointless I know, but I get too distracted by the speed reading on my cycle computer

User avatar
skull
Posts: 1966
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:48 pm

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby skull » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:24 pm

Garmin edge 500.

You can set what options you want displayed.

User avatar
ZepinAtor
Posts: 1558
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:46 pm
Location: Brizzzzbane Everton Hillzzzz

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby ZepinAtor » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:57 pm

A piece of black electrical tape.

Prolly cost you about 5 cents.

Or as stated above the Garmin 500 has the option to view whatever you want from 1 display up to 8 per screen x 3 screens. So you can have a total of 3 or 24 display options.
Gas propulsion.......it's natural don't fight it.

User avatar
JustJames
Posts: 501
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:50 am

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby JustJames » Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:40 pm

Endomondo on your smart phone, out of sight in your back pocket.

Exactly what you want, without having to buy anything.
My bike blog. Long on rumination, rambling and opinion. Why let facts ruin everything?

http://pedallingcharm.wordpress.com/

usernameforme
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby usernameforme » Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:51 pm

ZepinAtor wrote:A piece of black electrical tape.

you are a genius...

are there any other computers which share Garmin's feature of being able to choose your information but don't cost as much?

User avatar
Kenzo
Posts: 1680
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:13 am
Location: Daisy Hill / Brisbane, Southside FTW
Contact:

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby Kenzo » Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:17 pm

JustJames wrote:Endomondo on your smart phone, out of sight in your back pocket.

Exactly what you want, without having to buy anything.

yep, however Endomondo can also change what info is displayed on the screen and you can remove current speed. E.G. as I have my smart phone in my pocket and take it out only when stopped, I only display duration, distance, avg speed and calories. So if you bar mount your phone running Endomondo, you can hide the current speed data.

just4tehhalibut
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:02 am
Location: Spearwood, WA

Re: A cycle computer which does not tell you your speed...

Postby just4tehhalibut » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:53 pm

usernameforme wrote:are there any other computers which share Garmin's feature of being able to choose your information but don't cost as much?

Yep, the Bryton GPS computers are cheaper than the Garmin and can be set up for how much info displays and what that is. I'm sure that a few GPS computers will allow this. Last year I saw a general bike computer come out that was programmable but I can't recall the brand, it was a higher end model and more expensive than these GPS computers.
The other thing with GPS computers, if you don't want distractions and are looking for a good price, only the higher models have maps. So for Garmin anything below a 705, for Bryton below the Rider50.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Discodan, gavin_rider, minhyy