Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Questions about purchasing bicycles and parts

Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Hammo » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:50 am

I have a Giant 2012 tcr0 with the built in ANT+, the bike shop also added the cadence sensor on the crank.

Ignoring the HRM do i just need the unit? Or do I still need the cadence aswell?

Sorry for the stupid question
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

by BNA » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:15 pm

BNA
 

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby ratter » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:15 pm

not sure of your question but do you mean the bike shop fitted the magnet to the crank arm, you need this magnet for the giant's sensor to get a cadence reading.

if you meant the bike shop fitted the garmin sensor, no you do not need this sensor for your garmin to read cadence
Image
ratter
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Hammo » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:26 pm

Sorry I will try and make more sense!

Yes the shop put the magnet on the crank arm it isn't a garmin one it is just part of the magnetsthat they use with the built in ANT+. So would that pick up the cadence and report it to the ANT+ sensor that is buit in? If so do I need the garmin cadence aswell?

Hope that makes some sense!!
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby MarkG » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:40 pm

That ANT+ is essentially the Garmin cadence, just built in to the frame (on the chain stay).
The magnet they've put on the crank arm will work with the ANT+ so you won't need to use the Garmin cadence sensor.
Proudly "a hater of academics with helmet cams"
User avatar
MarkG
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:02 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Hammo » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:55 pm

Sweet thanks Mark that what I thought! I think it is still better value for money to buy the bundle rather than the untit and then the HRM strap. I guess I can always sell the cadence not sure if anyone buys them but all good!
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Hammo » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:51 pm

I have found it for $240 from the UK for the non premium bundle do people think that is a good deal?
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby warthog1 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:29 pm

As long as you dont get the premium strap :x
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Hammo » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:30 pm

Yeah no I am going to steer clear of the premium strap!!
Hammo
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:04 am

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby jamesn184 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:56 pm

Which hrm strap is worth getting ?
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby TZ2102 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:54 pm

bought the premium bundle with premium strap (very comfy) for $270 - $42 *special code. very happy thus far.
TZ2102
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:31 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby silverine » Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:16 am

I just saw Garmin cad/hrm bundle from PBK for $250, with their coupon code PARCEL10, it's $225 delivered to Aus :)
silverine
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:35 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby janus77 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:41 am

silverine wrote:I just saw Garmin cad/hrm bundle from PBK for $250, with their coupon code PARCEL10, it's $225 delivered to Aus :)


Argh, i pulled the trigger on one last week from CRC, ended up paying $250 delivered, ah well, only $25, not a biggy.
i noticed they have a 10% off everything sale, however the edge 500 price has been increased to just over $300.

PBK seems the best deal at present with the discount.
User avatar
janus77
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:09 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby warthog1 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:55 am

jamesn184 wrote:Which hrm strap is worth getting ?

I have the premium strap and it is giving very high readings. The standard strap is said to be more reliable if you do a search on here.
IME steer clear of the premium strap.
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby InTheWoods » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:06 pm

Just ordered mine from pbk too.

Tip: I changed the currency to pounds and paid in pounds. Converted back to AUD it was $214 :)

(My 28 degrees credit card has no international surcharge btw).
Image
User avatar
InTheWoods
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby biker jk » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:47 pm

warthog1 wrote:
jamesn184 wrote:Which hrm strap is worth getting ?

I have the premium strap and it is giving very high readings. The standard strap is said to be more reliable if you do a search on here.
IME steer clear of the premium strap.


My better half and I both have the Garmin premium HRM and have no problems. Go figure.
User avatar
biker jk
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby kajembe » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:02 pm

silverine wrote:I just saw Garmin cad/hrm bundle from PBK for $250, with their coupon code PARCEL10, it's $225 delivered to Aus :)


Started cycling recently as part of group ride & nearly everyone uses the Garmin 500. Use iPhone with strava. For those in the know is the Garmin 500 bundle going to be useful especially for the cadence or stick with what I have & save $$. Thanks.
kajembe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Xplora » Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:48 pm

^^ what is your goal? Do you need real time updates? If you are just chasing segments?
Xplora
 
Posts: 6174
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm
Location: TL;DR

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby kajembe » Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:37 pm

Xplora wrote:^^ what is your goal? Do you need real time updates? If you are just chasing segments?


Real time updates will be good as I can see how I'm doing & push accordingly.
kajembe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: Sorry another Garmin 500 Question!!

Postby Xplora » Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:37 pm

You COULD do this with the humble Cateye with cadence... but it's not quite the same if you are aiming for specific goals. I'd be interested in something that told me to aim for a specific target with intervals... unsure if the Bryton or Garmin units do this in the lowest models, or even the 500.

If you want tracking AND history AND real time updates, then the 500 would do the trick.
Xplora
 
Posts: 6174
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm
Location: TL;DR


Return to Buying a bike / parts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], hamshull



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit