Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

4xsama
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Sydney

Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby 4xsama » Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:30 pm

Hi,

I am trying to setup a Bryton 40 but can't get a reading on the monitor.

Cadence and speed magnets are making the receiver flash red and green respectively but for some reason the monitor doesn't display. As I am indoors is there a GPS issue or is there alternatively a mode problem (I am in METER mode).

Cheers
CANYON Inflite AL SLX 8.0 Pro Race. Pivot Mach 429 Trail

ianK
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby ianK » Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:37 am

Are the speed and cadence sensors switched on? Check settings - sensors. Rescanning the sensors might also sort it out.

Wal42
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby Wal42 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:43 am

That's what happened with my 3 month old one before I fixed it permanently with a hammer & bought the other brand starting with G, 16 months down the track & the other one has performed virtually faultlessly. Probably not what you want to hear though.

4xsama
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby 4xsama » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:33 pm

Wal42 wrote:That's what happened with my 3 month old one before I fixed it permanently with a hammer & bought the other brand starting with G, 16 months down the track & the other one has performed virtually faultlessly. Probably not what you want to hear though.


Yeah, not really. Thanks for the post though. I really like your Avatar
CANYON Inflite AL SLX 8.0 Pro Race. Pivot Mach 429 Trail

DarrylH
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby DarrylH » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:50 pm

Don't ditch it - my Bryton 35 is now 21 months old and still has great battery life.

User avatar
clackers
Posts: 2065
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby clackers » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:02 pm

4xsama, did you check that the sensor has been detected as Ian suggested?

You should see the speed/cadence icons on the display.

4xsama
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby 4xsama » Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:51 pm

clackers wrote:4xsama, did you check that the sensor has been detected as Ian suggested?

You should see the speed/cadence icons on the display.


No. Is there a reboot or format function?

I see the lights flick over at the appropriate times so I guess the reader reads. Whether the sender sends or displayer displays is up in the air.

It's like the light are on but nobodies home.
CANYON Inflite AL SLX 8.0 Pro Race. Pivot Mach 429 Trail

User avatar
clackers
Posts: 2065
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby clackers » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:41 pm

Take up Ian's suggestion to Rescan. The ID of the sensor should be revealed. If not, change the battery as a first step.

4xsama
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby 4xsama » Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:48 pm

ianK wrote:Are the speed and cadence sensors switched on? Check settings - sensors. Rescanning the sensors might also sort it out.


Fixed. Cheers.

Rescan worked.

Can I load up the odo reading from my Cateye so I don't restart from 0km's.
CANYON Inflite AL SLX 8.0 Pro Race. Pivot Mach 429 Trail

User avatar
clackers
Posts: 2065
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby clackers » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:06 pm

4xsama wrote:
ianK wrote:Are the speed and cadence sensors switched on? Check settings - sensors. Rescanning the sensors might also sort it out.


Fixed. Cheers.

Rescan worked.

Can I load up the odo reading from my Cateye so I don't restart from 0km's.


Don't think so. But could be wrong.

beroz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:35 pm

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby beroz » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:52 pm

Try settings, bike profile,overview, select bike 1 or bike2, odo.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

4xsama
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby 4xsama » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:28 pm

beroz wrote:Try settings, bike profile,overview, select bike 1 or bike2, odo.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2


Nope!

IS it just me or does Bryton have pretty crap*y instructions.
CANYON Inflite AL SLX 8.0 Pro Race. Pivot Mach 429 Trail

User avatar
clackers
Posts: 2065
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bryron Rider 40 setup problems

Postby clackers » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:46 pm

4xsama wrote:
IS it just me or does Bryton have pretty crap*y instructions.


They are still crappy, even by Taiwanese standards. :smile:

The Swiss Garmin documentation must surely be better!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users