Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

User avatar
wheels46
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:30 am

Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby wheels46 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:57 pm

Hey all

Just about to embark in the campy dark arts.. :twisted:

My problem being I have to swap my Fulcrum racing 5 Shimano freehub body for a campy equivalent.

Is it as simple as just buying the campy freehub and swapping? Or is there anything else I should be aware of? The Fulcrum part is listed as R5-014.

I'm assuming all R5s come with the 9mm axle? Mine are the 2010 model.

Thanks in advance :D

User avatar
drubie
Posts: 4678
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:12 am
Location: New England
Contact:

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby drubie » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:09 pm

wheels46 wrote:Hey all

Just about to embark in the campy dark arts.. :twisted:

My problem being I have to swap my Fulcrum racing 5 Shimano freehub body for a campy equivalent.

Is it as simple as just buying the campy freehub and swapping? Or is there anything else I should be aware of? The Fulcrum part is listed as R5-014.

I'm assuming all R5s come with the 9mm axle? Mine are the 2010 model.

Thanks in advance :D

They're all 9mm.

The freehub is a doddle to change (at least it was on the racing zero) - about 2 minutes of your time should have it sorted. Be aware of the price of it though, it should only be $80 from wiggle, but a brand new set of fulcrum racing 7 wheels with a campy freehub is under $200 most of the time.

User avatar
wheels46
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby wheels46 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:28 pm

Thanks for that drubie !! :D

I actually saw a set of Khamsins online at Ribble for around $130 (minus freight) and was mildly tempted. That being said I really love my R5s and they're still fairly low mileage. So I guess the replacement freehub should get it's money's worth.

User avatar
wheels46
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby wheels46 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:49 pm

drubie wrote:doddle


... oh and highly Enid Blyton of you Drubie. :lol:

Marmoset
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:08 am
Location: Perth

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby Marmoset » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:51 pm

Check out the Miche cassettes that can give you Campy spacing on a shimano freehub, might be an even cheaper option :D

Rich

User avatar
wheels46
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby wheels46 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:13 am

Marmoset wrote:Check out the Miche cassettes that can give you Campy spacing on a shimano freehub, might be an even cheaper option :D

Rich


Thanks Marmoset... I seriously considered that idea. I believe Ambrosio make them too. Only problem I had was a lack of actual internet feedback on how well conversion cassettes work.

Anyway... I've ordered a new freehub body. Job done.

Ascar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby Ascar » Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:46 pm

Mate, I just bought a set of fulcrum 5s with campy hub body, but have got shimano gear. Would you like to swap your old shimano hub body with my campy and keep that as a spare?

User avatar
wheels46
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Changing Fulcrum R5 freehub body from Shimano to campy

Postby wheels46 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:41 am

All yours Ascar.. Where are you located? It's just sitting around gathering dust. No need to swap. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: koshari