Magellan Cyclo 505

daazzaa
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:55 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby daazzaa » Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:13 am

brokenbus wrote:I have a red and a green cover for a 505 that I no longer need. Anyone want them for the cost of postage? First pm for each colour gets it. One each don't be greedy
Nick


Hi Nick I have dropped you a PM to see if u have any left ?

Cheers

Big_Red
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Brisbane East

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Big_Red » Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:29 pm

brokenbus wrote:I have a red and a green cover for a 505 that I no longer need. Anyone want them for the cost of postage? First pm for each colour gets it. One each don't be greedy
Nick



PM'd you Nick

brokenbus
Posts: 619
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Blackhead NSW

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby brokenbus » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:28 pm

Covers taken
Image

brokenbus
Posts: 619
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Blackhead NSW

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby brokenbus » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:29 pm

Covers gone
Image

Big_Red
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Brisbane East

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Big_Red » Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:59 pm

Cover arrived today Nick, looks great! Thank you very much, i didn't even know you could get a cover for the Cyclo 505 otherwise i'd have got one ages ago.

fab4272
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:34 pm

I've been in contact with a Magellan contact in Australia with regards to map updates for the Cyclo 505

It's now confirmed, they now consider them to be "end of life" and there are no future software or firmware updates planned for it.

Very poor, no map updates for this thing since being released in Australia I think.

Sully
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:41 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Sully » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:56 pm

So 'free maps for life' means until they say so?

wicksey
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby wicksey » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:01 pm

fab4272 wrote:I've been in contact with a Magellan contact in Australia with regards to map updates for the Cyclo 505

It's now confirmed, they now consider them to be "end of life" and there are no future software or firmware updates planned for it.

Very poor, no map updates for this thing since being released in Australia I think.


Wouldn't be that hard to get them to release an updated OSM, or even a guide for users to update their own. Thumbs down Magellan.

User avatar
Toyopet
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Toyopet » Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:59 pm

BigNath wrote:
Toyopet wrote:It sounds like your device might not be properly registered to you.

When you log into the CycloAgent app on your computer, click on the “Settings” tab and scroll down. Can you see your device’s serial number there? If no, you need to register it. If yes, maybe try to deregister, then re-register it.

(These Magellan specific questions and replies probably belong in the Magellan topic: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=74555 )


When I log in to Cycloagent app and click on the settings tab there is no mention of any device, nor any button/menu/link to do anything apart from change if the activity history is kept on the device after sync or deleted, or change the language. There is also a checkbox for synchronising tracks but absolutely no mention of devices, serial numbers, or any way to register or de-register.
I think you may be on to something, however I am not seeing anyway to change anything.

How do I insert a picture into a post? then I can show you what I'm seeing....


There’s a whole topic on how to post pictures
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=23303

CycloAgent comprises of two separate things:
1 - the Magellan Cyclo website which you log into, and 2 - the Magellan Cyclo Agent app which you log into. Both use your same username and password. The first stores your rides/routes/history. The second is for your device setup. Have you downloaded and run the Cyclo Agent app on your computer to set up your device?

See my screenshot below, which shows the difference.
I’ve got the app sitting on top of the website.


Image

BigNath
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby BigNath » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:27 pm

Toyopet wrote:
BigNath wrote:
Toyopet wrote:It sounds like your device might not be properly registered to you.

When you log into the CycloAgent app on your computer, click on the “Settings” tab and scroll down. Can you see your device’s serial number there? If no, you need to register it. If yes, maybe try to deregister, then re-register it.

(These Magellan specific questions and replies probably belong in the Magellan topic: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=74555 )


When I log in to Cycloagent app and click on the settings tab there is no mention of any device, nor any button/menu/link to do anything apart from change if the activity history is kept on the device after sync or deleted, or change the language. There is also a checkbox for synchronising tracks but absolutely no mention of devices, serial numbers, or any way to register or de-register.
I think you may be on to something, however I am not seeing anyway to change anything.

How do I insert a picture into a post? then I can show you what I'm seeing....


There’s a whole topic on how to post pictures
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=23303

CycloAgent comprises of two separate things:
1 - the Magellan Cyclo website which you log into, and 2 - the Magellan Cyclo Agent app which you log into. Both use your same username and password. The first stores your rides/routes/history. The second is for your device setup. Have you downloaded and run the Cyclo Agent app on your computer to set up your device?

See my screenshot below, which shows the difference.
I’ve got the app sitting on top of the website.


Image


Cheers for the photo posting instructions...

Here is my version of the same screen(s). I have Megallan Cyclo website logged in, and the Cyclo app loaded on top of the website.
Image

As you can hopefully see if I've done this right, is that it recognises the Cyclo is connected, but states it's not connected to my account. This makes me think the comment about being registered to someone else is most likely on the money.
If that's the case, how can I re-register it to me?

User avatar
Toyopet
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Toyopet » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:14 pm

BigNath wrote:........As you can hopefully see if I've done this right, is that it recognises the Cyclo is connected, but states it's not connected to my account. This makes me think the comment about being registered to someone else is most likely on the money.
If that's the case, how can I re-register it to me?

If it’s a new unit which hasn’t been previously registered, you should be able register it via the app on your computer. But if it’s a used/refurbished/second-hand unit, it may still be registered to a previous user who hasn’t deregistered it from their Magellan account. There’s not much you can do about it in that case. You can’t deregister it from their account. I doubt Magellan/Mio would deregister it for you due to possible theft or security issues. It’s still useable, but without the full functionality you’d probably want.

BigNath
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby BigNath » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:51 pm

Toyopet wrote:If it’s a new unit which hasn’t been previously registered, you should be able register it via the app on your computer. But if it’s a used/refurbished/second-hand unit, it may still be registered to a previous user who hasn’t deregistered it from their Magellan account. There’s not much you can do about it in that case. You can’t deregister it from their account. I doubt Magellan/Mio would deregister it for you due to possible theft or security issues. It’s still useable, but without the full functionality you’d probably want.


Yeah, thats what I'm starting to think. It's a second hand unit purchased online.
I will try and contact the seller and see if he can de-register it from his end, otherwise it sounds like if I buy a new unit and start from scratch, it will work the way I want...

Velt
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:52 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Velt » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:02 am

I was able to de-register a second hand magellan 505. They needed the email from the previous owner and some other details I think. I contacted magellan directly.

BigNath
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby BigNath » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:10 am

Velt wrote:I was able to de-register a second hand magellan 505. They needed the email from the previous owner and some other details I think. I contacted magellan directly.


Awesome.
I have sent a message to the seller to see if he can de-register the unit. Haven't heard back yet...
If he can - great, if he can't (or wont') i'll call Magellan.
I can give them evidence of me purchasing it (ebay) and hopefully they will be of assistance.

For the time being, i'll keep using it as I think it's a handy piece of gear, and just upload through the Strava portal using an attached USB cable to upload the .gpx file
Not always ideal, but still useable if that's the way it has to be in my situation.
Lesson learnt for me (i'm reasonable experienced with ebay sales and communication) I didn't realise these things needed to be registered to an owner for them to work with full functionality.

Velt
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:52 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Velt » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:41 pm

BigNath wrote:Lesson learnt for me (i'm reasonable experienced with ebay sales and communication) I didn't realise these things needed to be registered to an owner for them to work with full functionality.



Same thing happened to me, I just assumed it would work. Thankfully magellan sorted it out.

User avatar
AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13318
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Sydney & Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby AUbicycles » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:34 pm

Looks like Magellan have disappeared from Australia completely. Their mio.com website looks after Europe, Asia and Canada (No US, South American, South Africa, Australia or New Zealand).

Mine is still working but still useless as it is an Australian edition but I need European maps... and considering I use Strava, never saw the value purchasing European maps.

User avatar
antigee
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:58 am
Location: just off the Yarra Trail but not lurking in the bushes

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby antigee » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:04 pm

last time I wanted to use mine was for a ride in the US earlier this year - I could get the GPX for the route from the US Adventure cycling site but no way to get the US maps for the Mio - forgot about until this week noticed road.cc (UK) had a review of very similar Mio branded product with full European mapping so thought maybe dig it out and update the Aus' maps .... nope all dead - noticed that the owner of the Mio brand Mitec still runs Navman as a product in Aus' so emailed their sales - got this back with all dead links...small co' going bust sort of OK with, large co exiting market I'm bit p'offed with...maybe its my age but 4 year old product and no support doesn't make it good value to me...so how hard would it have been to tweak the code to allow users to upload OSM maps and email this fix to all the registered users?

Image[

bosco
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:03 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby bosco » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:14 pm

Has anyone ever been able to establish if it's possible to trade map files or re-flash the device yourself? I picked up a Cyclo 505 second hand but turns out it's got US maps on it, so GPS is useless to me in Aus. Is it possible to reformat with the system files from an Australian device? Or alternatively, does anyone want to swap an AU device for a US one :?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users