HomeNews & FeaturesRoad CyclingAction Packed Giro Stage 8, Siutsou Wins

Action Packed Giro Stage 8, Siutsou Wins

The 209km Giro d’Italia Stage 8 from Morbegno to Bergamo was marred with the serious injury of Rabobank rider Pedro Horrillo who fell over a barrier on the Culmine di San Pietro decent. In hospital he was put in an induced coma and is in a serious condition (but not life threatening) with serious head injuries, punctured lung, broken leg and numerous fractures. 

In the course of the race there were numerous strong break aways with Leipheimer, Garzelli, Horner, Pellizotti and Rogers holding a promising lead to be shortly joined by Hagen, Arroyo and Cunego. The group of eight however was not in agreement although they had the potential to shake up the standings with the chance for Australian Michael Rogers (Columbia-Highroad) to take the overall lead (and possibly a stage victory). Without a common goal and sharing tasks, the group fell behind and were caught by a larger group of around 30 riders. 

Another Columbia-Highroad rider, Kanstantsin Siutsou (Belarus), who lives in the region jumped forward with 13 Kilometres to go and while Popovych and Di Luca tried to follow, they were sucked back intro the peloton and Siutsou held a small lead over cobbled streets and small passages to take line honors. Yesterday’s stage winner, Boasson Hagen, also of Columbia took second closely followed by Rogers and Di Luca in a photo finish which saw Di Luca slightly in front and take third place and an 8 second bonus for his overall lead.

Stage 8 of the 2009 Giro d’Italia is in Milan, a 16 Kilometre circuit with a total riding distance of 165km and expected to be a showdown between Petacchi and Cavendish.

John Bruyneel Exudes Hope

After Stage 8, probably in response to the reaction to the Astana jersey decision and financial issues, Team Manager Bruyneel shares some wisdom via Twitter.

"We are continually faced with great opportunities which are brilliantly disguised as unsolvable problems."

Top Ten Results on Stage 8

1 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) Team Columbia – Highroad 5.04.34 (41.567km/h)

2 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia – Highroad 0.21

3 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) LPR Brakes – Farnese Vini

4 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia – Highroad

5 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas

6 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone – Caffe Mokambo

7 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – N.G.C.

8 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli

9 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre – N.G.C.

10 Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Team Milram

General Classification after Stage 8

1 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) LPR Brakes – Farnese Vini 33.13.35

2 Thomas L?vkvist (Swe) Team Columbia – Highroad 0.13

3 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia – Highroad 0.44

4 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana 0.51

5 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 0.58

6 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas 1.14

7 Carlos Sastre (Spa) Cervelo Test Team 1.24

8 Christopher Horner (USA) Astana 1.25

9 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas 1.35

10 David Arroyo (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 1.49


Christopher Jones
Christopher Joneshttps://www.bicycles.net.au
Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a design agency, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular