HomeNews & FeaturesMTBCraig Gordon wins MTB GP at Awaba

Craig Gordon wins MTB GP at Awaba

The second round of the Rocky Trail MTB Grand Prix was held at Awaba in Sydney’s north last weekend. The Rocky Trail crowd saw a lot of familiar faces in the event centre – Grand Prix “veterans” who had raced at Yellomundee before and the Solo Men’s contestants got their fair share of competition with 2006 24 Hour Solo World Champion Craig Gordon on the start line.

World Champion Craig Gordon takes the Rocky Trail MTB Grand Prix (Round two) at Awaba ahead of Matthew Reekie and Daniel McDonald.

Gordon smashed out a massive 13 laps in 4 hrs 15 min, followed by Matthew Reekie with 11 laps in 3 hrs 59 min. Third was claimed by an outstanding youngster Daniel McDonald coming in with 11 laps just 4 minutes later.

The solo women’s final result saw winner, Charlie McCabe, a full 18 minutes ahead of Sarah Neumann, both with 9 laps and Julie Witcombe in third with 8 completed laps.

Team Staunch took the win with 13 laps, a good result for Tim Dooman and Alex Pung only 5 minutes off the pace of Gordon. Pung however claimed the fastest lap for the day in 18 min. 51 sec. The Mixed Team 2 category saw the fastest women for the day, Tracey Robinson (25 min. 41) win with racing partner Jason Head with a total of 10 laps. In the Male Team 3, “shanebradsteve” won by 2 laps over the MTB Grand Prix ‘veteran team’, the FOB’s. Placings for 4th, 5th and 6th were very close, within just a minute of each other.

During qualifying early in the day, the fastest individual lap time was taken out by Pung with 4 min. 42 sec. His team mate Doman was just four seconds behind while Gordon completed the lap in 4 min. 48 sec.

The next round of the MTB Grand Prix will be held at Mt Stromlo in Canberra on November 14th. Registration is now open on www.rockytrailentertainment.com

Photo: Peter Blakeman

Press Release
Press Release
from an event organisers, team, organisation or other bodies. These may be published in part or in their entirety.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular