HomeNews & FeaturesRoad CyclingGiro d'Italia - Ivan Basso 2nd time winner

Giro d’Italia – Ivan Basso 2nd time winner

The 2006 Giro d’Italia winner, Ivan Basso (Team Liquigas) has taken out the 2010 tour ahead of Spaniard David Arroyo and team colleague Vincenzo Nibali.

Michael Scarponi (Team Androni Giocattoli) finished fourth and Cadel Evans was fifth in the GC and also first in the points classification (red jersey). Richie Porte dropped back once position, behind Alexandre Vinokourov though was the strongest Under 25 rider (white jersey) leading the youth classification for most of the tour. Matthew Lloyds green jersey as the leader of the mountains classification was uncontended.

Despite time in the Pink Jersey (Porte and Evans), an outright win in all of the major categories was not on the cards this year however the Australian riders are proving themself in the Peloton.

Australian Riders finishing positions at the 2010 Giro d’Italia
5 Cadel Evans (Team BMC) 3min 27sec
7 Richie Porte (Team Saxobank) 7min 22sec
50 Matthew Lloyd (Team Omega Pharma-Lotto) 2hours 13min 22sec
77 Cameron Wurf (Team Androni Giocattoli) 3hours 3min 44sec
105 Matthew Hayman (Team Sky) 3hours 40min 4sec
124 Luke Roberts (Team Milram)    4hours 3min 2sec
130 Graeme Brown (Team Rabbobank) 4hours 13min 27 sec
133 Christopher Sutton (Team Sky) 4 hours 15min 24sec
137 Cameron Meyer (Team Garmin Transitions) 4 hours 26min 16sec

Matthew Goss and Adam Hansen of Team Columbia-High road didn’t finish.

Christopher Jones
Christopher Joneshttps://www.bicycles.net.au
Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a design agency, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular