Hi!... and Freedom HPV

car7er

Hi!... and Freedom HPV

Postby car7er » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:59 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and possibly new to biking again.

Due to having a lower back injury, I haven't been riding for a long time. I've also never been able to be comfortable on a standard bike due to the lack of padding on my rear end ;) When I was a weighty kid, it was no problem but as I got older and thinner, it got unbearable. I bought a bike a few months ago and tried every seat I could get and although its much better, 30 minutes is the most I'm able to withstand.

I've been eyeing off recumbent trikes for a few years but its always been out of my budget. Recently, I've found an affordable second hand one but information is scarce. Its a Freedom HPV Scirrocco. I don't know what year it was made in as I haven't had a chance to ride it yet.

I've found a VERY dated looking website and a review on the bike from 1997-8 which rated it very well but thats about it.
http://www.freedomhpvs.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Are Freedom HPV still in business and even if the bike is that old, is it still worth buying as a first trike for under $1000? From what I can tell, it was a $3000+ machine back in the day.

Thanks in advance. Would appreciate any advice offered.

Ben

zebee

Re: Hi!... and Freedom HPV

Postby zebee » Sat Jan 23, 2016 7:42 am

Haven't heard of them but they seem to be before my time recumbenting...

Looking at the page, the only thing that might be tricky is the Sachs brakes, getting bits could be difficult. Wouldn't let that stop you if the shoes have meat on them as they should last a while. I think Greenspeed used to do these so you might contact them via greenspeed.com.au as to possibilities. If there is little or no meat on them then I think you would need to pass it by if the owner can't tell you where to get shoes as those are very old hubs and I dunno you would quickly find replacements.