New to MTB

Apple

New to MTB

Postby Apple » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:59 pm

Hi all, I am new to MTB but I am trying to love it, We are still in a new relationship after riding a road bike for over 30 years.
The problem is FEAR, I get so much fear and anxiety when on the MTB. I don't ride it enough and my left tern on a trail, sucks. I have only been riding in Terrey Hills and I seem ok with that as it is not to hard. I have been to Wylde but it is all left turns. does anyone now of easy trails in the North shore area. Thanks Or I am happy to travel.
A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man.
Speak your mind,Those that mind dont matter, Those that matter dont mind!!

Mugglechops

Re: New to MTB

Postby Mugglechops » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:26 pm

My advice would be to join a local club who will most likely have some skills days set up.

These will help your skill level come along in leaps and bounds.

nescius

Postby nescius » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:15 pm

When I first started MTB after a number of years on the roadie I had the same sort of problem, I just didn't understand how it worked. Luckily I had plenty of people to offer advice and tips on how to ride and how to improve my skills. My advice would be to definitely either join a club or find a local group that you can ride with, in my experience most mountain bikers are pretty happy to help out someone who is just getting started on the MTB.

I also found a lot of youtube tutorials quite helpful, especially those from Skills with Phil

One of the things that really helped me get comfortable was practicing specific skills away from the trails, I do lots of skills stuff in my street and on the local oval, or in the carpark out at the trails. Doing skill work away from the singletrack lets you really concentrate on what you are doing and how the bike handles without the extra stress of trail riding.