Giant OCR Review/Opinions? Buying a new bike.

NewRoadBike

Giant OCR Review/Opinions? Buying a new bike.

Postby NewRoadBike » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:58 pm

Hi, I am new to road cycling, just about to get into it with a mate of mine. I already do a fair bit of riding on my mountain bike and thought I'd be better off with a road bike. I have found a second hand Giant OCR3, with shimano sora gearing and alex wheels. It costs AUD$280 negotiable. Is it worth it, and is it a good quality bike for a good price for starting off?

Duck!
Expert

Re: Giant OCR Review/Opinions? Buying a new bike.

Postby Duck! » Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:22 am

Not a bad bike to start with, but above all, be sure it's the right size for you!. The frame is pretty robust, and although not the slickest-operating stuff, the Sora components are pretty reliable; just make sure it's been looked after and nothing is too worn out, although parts at that level aren't ridiculously expensive.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.

athman

Postby athman » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:50 pm

I started out with a sora-spec OCR3 about 10 years ago. I rode it as my primary bike for three years and then upgraded to a carbon framed Giant TCR (which I still have). I hung on to the OCR3 for a long time after that because it was a useful second bike and I only sold it last month.

I did a lot of distance riding in it, including the 200k Around the Bay and my first Alpine Classic 130k. I even started racing in it. I did about 5 criteriums?criteria? crit races and then decided to go carbon.

I did wear out a lot of components along the way, but that is because I was riding much more than it was designed for. The wheels went first, then the headstem bearings, then the chain and cassette just through wear and tear.