Endurance or Intensity

ni78ck

Endurance or Intensity

Postby ni78ck » Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:00 pm

I have been riding for almost 3 months now and feel that im not improving at a great rate. is this normal, as i was relatively unfit to start with? should i aim to do longer rides and get the km up or would i be better off doing shorter distances at a higher intensity level? would some running and other aerobic exersizes help? :?

thanks for reply 8)
Cervelo R5
Cervelo S5 VWD - dura ace Di2

sogood

Postby sogood » Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:17 pm

What's your reference when you said that you aren't improving much? Speed? Endurance? Sprint? Bike handling? Clearly any good training would have to be focused on your specific objective.
Bianchi, Ridley, Tern, Montague and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.

JV911

Postby JV911 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:25 pm

I'm sure the pros like Alex et. al. will chime in but from a personal perspective I’ve been ramping up both the intensity AND length of rides since I got back on a bike 3 months ago after about 18 months out of the saddle. You have to set goals and push yourself i.e. if you are constantly doing the same distances your performance/fitness will plateau

I could hardly do 15km on the flats when I started (the cardio was letting me down big time) and now doing 50-60km easily, with a lot more uphill. Have used hills and sprints as forms of interval training. Used to hate hills now I love the challenge :D

I think it’s important to experiment and find what works for you. Feel free to include running as part of your aerobic workout. Is it your cardio or legs that's letting you down? Focus on what is.

edit: training in a group helps a lot too. others are there to push you, motivate you, help you when you're tired and to give pointers
<---LACC--->
<---BMC SLR01--->

ni78ck

Postby ni78ck » Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:40 pm