How to proceed in cycling as a fit beginner

AKey4

How to proceed in cycling as a fit beginner

Postby AKey4 » Fri Jun 23, 2023 10:21 pm

Hi,

So I am a 23yr ex runner (decent level) who has just had to stop running because of an ongoing long term injury. On the advice of the doc, I’ve taken up cycling.

I’ve riden bikes all my life (mountain biking, bmx as a kid, etc), but I’ve never taken it any what seriously or put any effort in training wise until the last 3-4 weeks. I’ve jumped on zwift and loved doing a few races on there.

So my question is what to do next? I’ve found it hard to find real life races (I’m obviously looking in the wrong places).

In the 3-4 weeks since I started riding my 20min power is up to 5.2-5.3 w/kg and 5min power is around 6.3-6.4w/kg (I weigh 60-61kg).

So basically I have no idea how to proceed from here. Where to find races? What races/ series to join? Should I join a club? Etc…

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

:)

nickobec

Re: How to proceed in cycling as a fit beginner

Postby nickobec » Fri Jun 23, 2023 10:50 pm

Where do you live? I can give you advice for WA, but other states are different.

Yes, you need to join a club to race.

In most states, less so WA, clubs have training rides, where you can get experience in bunch riding, which is good to have before racing. A good club will guide you through the process of learning how to race to ....

Tim

Postby Tim » Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:49 am

nickobec wrote:Where do you live?
I think AKey4 lives in cyber space.
AKey4 wrote: In the 3-4 weeks since I started riding my 20min power is up to 5.2-5.3 w/kg and 5min power is around 6.3-6.4w/kg (I weigh 60-61kg).
BS.

foo on patrol

Postby foo on patrol » Sat Jun 24, 2023 8:05 am

^^^^^^^ I was thinking the same with those power to weight numbers. :wink:

Foo
I don't suffer fools easily and so long as you have done your best,you should have no regrets.
Goal 6000km

nickobec

Postby nickobec » Sat Jun 24, 2023 12:23 pm