Noisy drivetrain

Gramcounter

Noisy drivetrain

Postby Gramcounter » Tue Dec 12, 2023 11:53 am

I've just replaced my cassette with a new Ultegra 11sp 11-30. Using the old chain (KMC with 2000km) it was very noisy so I replaced it with a new Dura-Ace chain. That made no difference. The gears are set up properly and gear changing is perfect (no jumping or slipping of the chain). However, when pedalling on any sprocket there is a very loud 'rough' sound (as if the sprocket was full of burrs).
Do new cassette/chains have to wear themselves in before they quieten down - this has never been my experience.

I bought the cassette from BikeForce so assume it's not a cheap fake from a hostile country, the Dura-Ace chain is from the LBS. The chain ring are okay having only done 2000km.

kilroy

Re: Noisy drivetrain

Postby kilroy » Tue Dec 12, 2023 12:34 pm

Sounds like it may be the wheel hub. I'm no mechanic, but I've had this a few times.

Do you have a spare wheel to put on to see if there is the same noise?
2020 Specialized Roubaix Comp Di2; 2021 Trek Powerfly 5.

rkelsen

Postby rkelsen » Tue Dec 12, 2023 1:07 pm

Maybe check the 'B' tension: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QRhKaZd6GWQ

Mr Purple

Postby Mr Purple » Tue Dec 12, 2023 1:23 pm

Check the cassette is actually tight (fooled on this one before) and that the front derailleur isn't fouling on the chain (usually fixable with the adjustment screws).

nickobec

Postby nickobec » Tue Dec 12, 2023 1:50 pm

another thing to check, the jockey wheels. Twice I have had noisy drivetrain as a result of cracked jockey wheels, the first time it took a long time to diagnose

robbo mcs

Postby robbo mcs » Tue Dec 12, 2023 7:58 pm

Also make sure the chain is routed correctly around the jockey wheels, and is going the correct side of the bar between the top and bottom jockey wheel at the front. Very easy thing to do, and something everybody does at some stage. Makes exactly the noise you describe.

Duck!
Expert