Wheels for a Steamroller

goof

Wheels for a Steamroller

Postby goof » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:08 pm

Hello folks,

I am new to the world of fixed gear and to this forum so please forgive me if I am in the wrong section or am asking a question that has been asked 20 times before.

After doing what is for me extensive research, (surfing the net for an afternoon) I reckon the bike I am going to buy is a complete Surly Steamroller. My question is, should I stick with the wheels that it comes with which are Alex DA-22 rims with Surly hubs or look for something else? I need a strong wheel and don't want to popping spokes every week. I am 6'3" and 94kg. I was reading another thread by Europa regarding wheels and people were mentioning the Velocity deep V rim.

Also; Cranks, it comes with 170 Sugino RD's. Good, bad or indifferent?

I figure the rest of the bike I can play with at a later date.

Any guidance or thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Goof

tallywhacker

Postby tallywhacker » Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:36 pm

welcome to the dark side.
I'm 6'2" / 105kg and ride (on the track) on a set of alex da-15's with no problems (Velocity fusion and Ambrosio on the road). If you "pop spokes" then generally it will be the quality of the wheel build or the spokes. If you do decide to change your rims dont get suckered into Velocity deep Vs, they are a nice heavy duty wheel with the emphasis on heavy, velocity fusion are a similar profile, just as strong but a lot lighter.
Nothing wrong with the Sugino cranks but I find 170mm a little short.
Also, make sure you have a brake installed

europa
Location: southern end of Adelaide - home of hills, fixies and drop bears

Postby europa » Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:49 pm

G'day Goof,

Welcome the world or real cycling.