HomeNews & FeaturesRoad CyclingSaxo Bank Confirms Tour Squad

Saxo Bank Confirms Tour Squad

The management of the Danish team has selected the nine riders who  will represent Team Saxo Bank in this year’s edition of Tour de France  which kicks off July 4th in Monaco: Andy Schleck, Frank Schleck,  Fabian Cancellara, Stuart O’Grady, Jens Voigt, Nicki S?rensen, Chris  Anker S?rensen, Gustav Larsson and Kurt-Asle Arvesen.

"Just like the past couple of years, it has been a very difficult decision because there have been several excellent riders in our consideration for the nine spots for the Tour. The riders have really timed their shape perfectly so it was a luxury problem having to choose. But now we have picked nine riders which together form an extremely strong lineup which could help dominating the course from the beginning to the end", said team owner Bjarne Riis.

"With Fabian in peak shape it is clear that we have a perfect chance of taking the yellow jersey from the start and there is absolutely no doubt that this is what we are here for. At the same time, we have a homogeneous and powerful team for the team time trial and it should form the foundation for our efforts in the overall standings. In Frank and Andy Schleck, we have two super-powerful cards to play and the rest of the guys will be able to give them the right support. We  believe in a fantastic Tour de France for Team Saxo Bank", adds Bjarne  Riis.

Christopher Jones
Christopher Joneshttps://www.bicycles.net.au
Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a design agency, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular