HomeNews & FeaturesRoad CyclingLe Tour de France Stage 14 Results

Le Tour de France Stage 14 Results

A group of 12 riders went away after 14km of racing, establishing the break of the day. 

Riders in the group were Hayden Roulston (Cerv?lo Test Team), Martijn Maaskant (Garmin Slipstream), Hincapie, Nicolas Roche (Ag2r La Mondiale), Daniele Bennati, Frederik Willems (Liquigas), Christophe Le Mevel (Fran?aise des Jeux), Sebastian Minard (Cofidis), Daniele Righi (Lampre), Ivanov , Gerard Ciolek (Milram) and Albert Timmer (Skil Shimano).

Jens Voigt was in the group it first but a puncture and a slow helping hand from the neutral service made the Team Saxo Bank-rider fall back the field.

Sergey Ivanov (Katusha) attacked solo from the day-long break with 10km left to ride.  Never once looking back, and took the stage victory.

In the front group George Hincapie (Columbia) was the best placed rider in the GC and for a long time he was in the virtual yellow jersey.

Columbia had more interest in the yellow jersey than pulling Cavendish to a stage victory. Team Astana sat back and rode tempo while AG2R decided to defend as best they could.  With 10km to go Garmin put their team on the front to bring down the gap. It’s unclear why Gamin would do this as at the end of the stage none of their riders have gained any real time.

The peloton reached the finish line with Nocentini keeping the leader’s jersey one more day but only five seconds ahead of George Hincapie (Columbia).

“We wanted him (Hincapie) to have the jersey.  It would have been great for him." Armstrong said.

Top Ten Results

1 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Team Katusha 4:37:46
2 Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:16
3 Hayden Roulston (NZl) Cervelo TestTeam
4 Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Garmin – Slipstream
5 S?bastien Minard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
6 Daniele Righi (Ita) Lampre – NGC
7 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Fran?aise des Jeux
8 George Hincapie (USA) Team Columbia – HTC
9 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas
10 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Team Milram 0:00:22

General Classification after Stage 14

1 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 58:13:52
2 George Hincapie (USA) Team Columbia – HTC 0:00:05
3 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana 0:00:06
4 Lance Armstrong (USA) Astana 0:00:08
5 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Fran?aise des Jeux 0:00:43
6 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Garmin – Slipstream 0:00:46
7 Andreas Kl?den (Ger) Astana 0:00:54
8 Tony Martin (Ger) Team Columbia – HTC 0:01:00
9 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Garmin – Slipstream 0:01:24
10 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:01:49


Christopher Jones
Christopher Joneshttps://www.bicycles.net.au
Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a design agency, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular