HomeNews & FeaturesRoad Cycling2nd stage to Edvald Boasson Ha?gen at Tour of Poland

2nd stage to Edvald Boasson Ha?gen at Tour of Poland

Penultimate stage of Tour of Poland, 162 kilometres between Kroscienko n. Dunajcem and Zakopane. The stage ended with four 25 kilometres local circuit climbing each time two 1st category hills, Murzasichle (5,7 km at 4,3 %) and Glod?wka (7,5 km at 4,6 %).

Today’s attack began at the foot of the first final climb, where Jacek Morajko (Pol. Nat. Team), Matthias Russ (Team Milram), Vassili Kiryienka (Caisse d’?pargne), Michael Albasini (Team Columbia) and Tadej Valjavec (AG2R) took off from the bunch.

The gap never passed the 2’30" mark, and, with the continuous desintegration of the peloton, a 20-wheel group countered and caught the escapers.

This group sprinted for the stage, Edvald Boasson Ha?gen (Team Columbia) taking his second stage win in Poland ahead of World champion Alessandro Ballan (Lampre), who increases somewhat his leadership. J?rgen Roelandts is still leading comfortably the points classification.

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia – HTC
2. Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre – N.G.C.
3. Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
4. Francesco Reda (Ita) Quick Step
5. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre – N.G.C.

1. Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre – N.G.C.
2. Daniel Moreno (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne at 10"
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia – HTC at 11″
4. Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank at 12″
5. Francesco Reda (Ita) Quick Step at 16″

Christopher Jones
Christopher Joneshttps://www.bicycles.net.au
Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a design agency, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular